Bug submission guidelines

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
drmacro
Posts: 2361
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby drmacro » Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:16 am

That's the point of the OP; what you consider bugs, aren't necessarily.

Your own statements here show you aren't attempting to learn how the software works, but are attempting to use it assuming your expectations are how it works.

Follow the guidelines, list your issues in the forum, learn how to use the tool...and then, if you can help, fire up a compiler, help edit the wiki, do regression testing. There are plenty of ways to help...that are more helpful than $hit posting.
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
BIM Bo
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 3:55 pm

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby BIM Bo » Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:10 pm

drmacro wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 11:16 am
That's the point of the OP; what you consider bugs, aren't necessarily.

Your own statements here show you aren't attempting to learn how the software works, but are attempting to use it assuming your expectations are how it works.

Follow the guidelines, list your issues in the forum, learn how to use the tool...and then, if you can help, fire up a compiler, help edit the wiki, do regression testing. There are plenty of ways to help...that are more helpful than $hit posting.
Oh come on. Be nice to others - yes?

I actually am attempting to learn how the software works and I am even attempting to work around or look for solutions where the software doesn't work.
If you think I am not attempting to get to know the software (in detail) and if you consider what I do "$hit posting", then a) your interpretation is malevolent b) terribly wrong.

Sure, some things may not be bugs as such, because opinions differ if an "UI nuisance" is to be considered a bug. Rest assured, I'll come to the crashes and lock-ups in due time.

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):                                                                                                                                                  
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAOEstSE/usr/Mod/Draft/DraftGui.py", line 1766, in selectplane                                                                                              
    FreeCADGui.runCommand("Draft_SelectPlane")                                                                                                                                      
Base.FreeCADError: No such command 'Draft_SelectPlane'                                                                                                                              
Traceback (most recent call last):                                                                                                                                                  
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAOEstSE/usr/Mod/Draft/DraftGui.py", line 1766, in selectplane                                                                                              
    FreeCADGui.runCommand("Draft_SelectPlane")                                                                                                                                      
Base.FreeCADError: No such command 'Draft_SelectPlane'                                                                                                                              
Traceback (most recent call last):                                                                                                                                                  
  File "/tmp/.mount_FreeCAOEstSE/usr/Mod/Draft/DraftGui.py", line 1766, in selectplane                                                                                              
    FreeCADGui.runCommand("Draft_SelectPlane")                                                                                                                                      
Base.FreeCADError: No such command 'Draft_SelectPlane'                                                                                                                              
1.644e-06 <App> Document.cpp(3171): The graph must be a DAG.                                                                                                                        
<Exception> Tree.cpp(1846): Dependency loop detected for BatteryBlock#Clone                                                                                                         
App::DocumentObjectGroup / Group: Links go out of the allowed scope                                                                                                                 
Start Editing Box                                                                                                                                                                    
Start Editing Box                                                                                                                                                                    
626.32 <App> Document.cpp(3171): The graph must be a DAG.                                                                                                                           
626.384 <App> Document.cpp(3524): BatteryBlock#Clone still touched after recompute                                                                                                  
626.384 <App> Document.cpp(3524): BatteryBlock#Body still touched after recompute                                                                                                   
App::DocumentObjectGroup / Group: Links go out of the allowed scope                                                                                                                 
App::DocumentObjectGroup / Group: Links go out of the allowed scope                                                                                                                 
App::DocumentObjectGroup / Group: Links go out of the allowed scope                                                                                                                 
<PartDesignGui> Utils.cpp(72): no body found                                                                                                                                        
<PartDesignGui> Utils.cpp(72): no body found 
drmacro
Posts: 2361
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby drmacro » Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:21 pm

BIM Bo wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 12:10 pm

Oh come on. Be nice to others - yes?

I actually am attempting to learn how the software works and I am even attempting to work around or look for solutions where the software doesn't work.
If you think I am not attempting to get to know the software (in detail) and if you consider what I do "$hit posting", then a) your interpretation is malevolent b) terribly wrong.
"I have to state that neither yorick, nor Kunda1, nor chrisb et al. are qualified enough to set up a FreeCAD bug reporting process"
I calls-em as I see-em. 8-)
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 2391
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby Roy_043 » Mon Dec 07, 2020 3:03 pm

BIM Bo wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:28 am
With all due respect, I have to state that neither yorick, nor Kunda1, nor chrisb et al. are qualified enough to set up a FreeCAD bug reporting process. ;)
drmacro wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:21 pm
I calls-em as I see-em. 8-)
The 'Wink' emoticon usually signifies that a statement is made in jest. So maybe @drmacro is taking @"BIM Bo" too seriously here?
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 9222
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Dec 07, 2020 4:56 pm

ok.. looks like this thread is just totally derailing. @Bim_Bo has created a separate thread where he can discuss his aggro constructive criticism. I'm considering locking this thread or moving the discussion to a separate thread as to not pollute it.
I'm open to lively discussion but confrontational and impatient manners usually shutdown productive exchanges and quickly become ad hominem encounters that are counter-productive to community morale.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
chrisb
Posts: 30822
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby chrisb » Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:57 pm

BIM Bo wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:28 am
With all due respect, I have to state that neither yorick, nor Kunda1, nor chrisb et al. are qualified enough to set up a FreeCAD bug reporting process. ;)

And why is that? It's simple: You guys are way too knowledgeable with FreeCAD, know your ways and therefore probably already intuitively are able to re-route your way around problems that do occur with this extremely complex application. And/or have set up local environments that somehow magically work and are not even able to reproduce many problems occuring with the plebs.
Let me answer here, because you named me explicitely.

You must not mix the errors you encounter - where you are probably right, that the power users may no longer meet nor see them - with the bug reporting process. And this process has proven to be useful in the special environment of FreeCAD development.

You are right with your remark on the most recent version. I will add it to the first post.
I am stumbling over FreeCAD bugs at every 3rd click of the mouse, but am extremely reluctant reporting them via the "defined process" which is tiresome and wrong right from the beginning.
I know that the process could be made more comfortable for users. However, it was designed to be most comfortable for the developers. Keep them free of any report which isn't caused by a program fault but rather due to wrong handling, or whatever. FreeCAD is not really short of people reporting bugs - although a well done bug report is not an easy thing - but we are very short of good programmers. And every minute we can save for them is a good minute, even if we users have to invest much more time than just a few minutes.
We do this out of respect for the developers.
You need at least FreeCAD 0.19.23300 to edit my current sketches.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
BIM Bo
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2020 3:55 pm

Re: Bug submission guidelines

Postby BIM Bo » Tue Dec 08, 2020 12:13 pm

chrisb wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 5:57 pm
You are right with your remark on the most recent version. I will add it to the first post.
Thanks chris. Swift and also done by the right person (from my limited observations here, it was you who pointed the people often to 0.18.x -> 0.19.x)
I understand the need for a process that is shielding devs from noise. After 25+ years in the OSS "business" maybe better than you (as in: you, kunda et al.) think.

So if I may contribute a little with that experience - without someone immediately seeing it as "aggro":

current:

1) use newest version
2) Make sure that what you found is a bug
3) 2. Discuss the problem on the forum first! (numbering wrong there)
4) Make sure your bug can be reproduced.

better:

1) use newest version
2) make sure what you observe can be reproduced
3) discuss the problem on forum, including the FreeCAD version

6/7/8 can become the new 4/5/6

Only someone equipped with the means of reproducing "some obseved effect" hitting the forum can induce a community-driven triage of a potential bug.
And only after this triage (with positive outcome) the bug/regression/whatever is ripe for the tracker.

Observe how I wrote "better" - not "best". ;)