how do you restore an unpacked FCstd file?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
mario52
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

how do you restore an unpacked FCstd file?

Postby mario52 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:56 am

Hi
How restored a unpacked FCStd file ?
mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9557
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: how do you restore an unpacked FCstd file?

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:40 pm

Hi Mario
This is an interesting question, so I moved it to its own topic.

I thought the answer is that you "zip" it back up again...then change the file extension from zip to fcstd. But I have never done it myself....so there may be more to it for all I know. :)

Jim
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14613
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: how do you restore an unpacked FCstd file?

Postby wmayer » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:04 pm

It's not done by only zipping the files. It's also important to do it in the right order because the very first file must be Document.xml. In the Tools menu of FreeCAD there is a project utility command which does exactly this. You can uncompress an existing project or create a project from Document.xml and the data files.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9557
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: how do you restore an unpacked FCstd file?

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:14 pm

Yes, of course there is...I forgot about that. :oops:

this is where it is
ProjectUtility1.jpeg
ProjectUtility1.jpeg (48.02 KiB) Viewed 747 times

and this is what it looks like
ProjectUtility.jpeg
ProjectUtility.jpeg (18.21 KiB) Viewed 747 times

:)
Jim
mario52
Posts: 2646
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: how do you restore an unpacked FCstd file?

Postby mario52 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:39 pm

hi
I had translated the page 2 months ago :oops:
Project_utility/fr
thanks
mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.