Topological naming problem...will force me to stop using FreeCAD?!

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
gigax

Topological naming problem...will force me to stop using FreeCAD?!

Post by gigax »

Hello All,

I would like to share my experience regarding FreeCAD and its use in a commercial environment.

I've started using FreeCAD one year ago, in a startup company, with the purpose of designing sheet metal enclosures. I am an electronic engineer and I have little experience with commercial CAD packages, as I have only worked with Inventor several years ago, for a short period.

Anyway, this is my workflow:

1) Using the Sheet Metal workbench, I design sheet metal part.
2) Using the Part workbench I place cylinders and cubes and I subtract them from the original part in order to create holes and air ducts.
3) Using the TechDraw workbench I create technical drawings with dimensions etc...

I have designed approximately 100 parts, of various level of complexity, from very simple brackets with a few holes, to large panels with several bends and more than 100 holes. It's been a very nice journey, I have learned a lot and, very important, I have been able to bring my stuff in production.

I have also used the FEM, Raytracing, Spreadsheet and Image workbenches, but they have a minor role in my workflow.