How to change the parent of a feature?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
lvella

Post by lvella »

Or, could also be called: "How to insert retroactive features in some point in the middle of the feature chain/tree"?

This is my first time with this software, and I managed to do what I needed so far (some pieces to be 3D printed), but now I need to poke some wholes that pierces all the other pokets I have already created. I tried to poket on the base Pad of the part I am designing, but it simply created a new branch, that has no effect on the other chained features. How can I append the following features on my newly created poket, so that all bellow are affected? It seems to me it would be a simple matter of changing the parent feature of the one I want to be next, but I could not find that property.
Last edited by lvella on Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
tanderson69
Veteran

Re: How to change the parent of a feature?

Post by tanderson69 »

unfortunately, we can't do this yet.
shoogen
Veteran

Post by shoogen »

There is the Replace Object command in the OpenSCAD Workbench. It is intended to work with Part features only.
lvella

Post by lvella »

And how to use that Replace Object thing? I must select 3 nodes, then it turns clickable, then I click and nothing happens.
NormandC
Veteran

Post by NormandC »

I'm surprised no one told you you forgot to do a mandatory thing.

That is

shoogen
Veteran

Post by shoogen »

lvella wrote:And how to use that Replace Object thing? I must select 3 nodes, then it turns clickable, then I click and nothing happens.
You need to have three objects. The old (child), the new (child) and the parent.