Render workbench and part objects [Solved]

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Brutha
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Render workbench and part objects [Solved]

Postby Brutha » Sat Feb 20, 2021 10:57 am

Hi All,

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update 13/03: Many thanks to the dev(s), this is now fixed, as materials can be assigned to bodies! See further info here https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-rend ... terials.md.

So, to render an assembly, you can just import the top level part into the render project, then assign the materials to each body as required.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Playing further with the render workbench and am finding it very nice!

However, I've run into one big problem: if I am designing something, I will often use nested part objects (see attached pic) - this allows me to group bodies and position everything easily.

However, it seems that the render workbench ignores any placement information in the part, and simply renders using the body placement information only - so in the render everything appears at the origin instead of correctly positioned.

Does anyone know of any workaround for this?

Thanks!

Brutha
Screenshot 2021-02-20 at 10.47.19.png
Screenshot 2021-02-20 at 10.47.19.png (616.34 KiB) Viewed 167 times
Last edited by Brutha on Sat Mar 13, 2021 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10254
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Render workbench and part objects

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Feb 21, 2021 4:41 am

Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Brutha
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Render workbench and part objects

Postby Brutha » Sun Feb 21, 2021 8:42 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Sun Feb 21, 2021 4:41 am
Please open a ticket on https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-render
OK, done! https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-render/issues/123

In the meantime, I discovered that adding the part itself gives the correct positions of the objects - BUT as far as I can see it means all bodies in the part then have to have the same material, so it doesn't really help.
Brutha
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Render workbench and part objects [Solved]

Postby Brutha » Sat Mar 13, 2021 10:45 am

Updated to solved - see update in 1st post!