Part design clone: no colour?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Brutha
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Part design clone: no colour?

Postby Brutha » Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:02 am

Hi All,

Quick question, not sure if this is expected behaviour or a bug.

If I clone a body, it does not seem to copy the colour of the original object. Should it not do that?

Thanks,

Brutha,

Code: Select all

OS: macOS 10.15
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.23756 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 9c6e9184930a52b165a0b7274e3a45d1006bfe67
Python version: 3.8.6
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
Brutha
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Part design clone: no colour?

Postby Brutha » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:48 am

Wait I may have missed something!

It seems that you can use App:Link to create effectively a clone of a part including all bodies and appropriate colours etc - is that how it's supposed to work?
freedman
Posts: 1878
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Part design clone: no colour?

Postby freedman » Tue Feb 23, 2021 3:48 pm

That's how it works, color and all, it can save a lot of memory if you need to duplicate items.