[PD] two bugs when creating a multi-transform feature

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 17508
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: [PD] two bugs when creating a multi-transform feature

Post by wmayer »

uwestoehr wrote: Sat Feb 27, 2021 6:36 pm In the fresh FC 0.19 release I encounter two bugs with multi-transform features:

Bug A
1. select e.g. a Pad
2. add a multi-transform feature to it
3. add in the transform dialog a transformation of your choice, e.g. a scaled transformation

result: the transformation succeeded but you suddenly see nothing anymore in the model view
Compared to v0.18 this is a regression. But as soon as you press the OK button of the sub-dialog the object is back.
Bug B:
4. Cancel the multi-transform dialog

result: the operation is not canceled but you end up with 2 orphaned new features in the model tree
It's a slight regression to v0.18 and probably caused by opening a new transaction. But also v0.18 didn't work correctly here because it leaves an empty MultiTransform object.

OK to file bug reports?
Sure.
User avatar
uwestoehr
Posts: 2914
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [PD] two bugs when creating a multi-transform feature

Post by uwestoehr »

wmayer wrote: Sun Feb 28, 2021 11:54 am Compared to v0.18 this is a regression. But as soon as you press the OK button of the sub-dialog the object is back.
Here is a possible fix: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/4542

Yes, after pressing OK you see the result, but the idea of a multi-transformation is to have several transformations within the same dialog. Therefore when no seeing the result of the first one, it is hard to go on and add the next. Having the result shown is therefore in my opinion mandatory.
It's a slight regression to v0.18 and probably caused by opening a new transaction. But also v0.18 didn't work correctly here because it leaves an empty MultiTransform object.
I reported this now as issue #4582
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 17508
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: [PD] two bugs when creating a multi-transform feature

Post by wmayer »

uwestoehr wrote: Mon Mar 01, 2021 1:34 am
wmayer wrote: Sun Feb 28, 2021 11:54 am Compared to v0.18 this is a regression. But as soon as you press the OK button of the sub-dialog the object is back.
Here is a possible fix: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/4542
Btw, the regression is caused by git commit 11a93a0578816b. It probably makes sense to always hide all existing features in a body when adding a new feature. However, multi-transform features are an exception because they are the parent of the transform features and making them invisible automatically makes their children invisible.
Post Reply