From surface to solid. Help needed!

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
AndarionCG

From surface to solid. Help needed!

Post by AndarionCG »

Hello! :)

I began with this project a week ago, i am new to freecad, but i did used autocad, pro/engineer before. Now, i know i could do this stuff over there, but i don't use windows anymore, and that is for a while already. I'm using ubuntu 12.04 LTS, and today i updated freecad to daily build version.
I'm into freecad for a week, or two, i pretty musch understand the concept on how freecad works, but still there's tone of stuff to learn.
Right now, i have one problem. And it would be important to me to figure this out, because the rest of the project will have a lot of similar situation.
What i need is to create a solid out of the surfaces. I tried shape builder, it didn't worked. In one moment i tried boolean, it did worked for two surfaces, but it just not the way to go, for some reason surface resolution become downgraded.
It's quite simple need, but for now nothing works.
I saw almost every tutorial, but non of them explains what i need, i tried defferent solutions, but, non of them can do organic surface like bspline can. But if anyone know some good tutorial, please, add link toward the light!

One new problem i noticed after update, when i change to draft workbench, i can't see tools, to be precise, without bspline i'm in pretty big trouble. :)

I atached .fcstd file below.
Attachments
BSpline_surfaces.png
BSpline_surfaces.png (120.94 KiB) Viewed 10900 times
VF_test_02.fcstd
(354.06 KiB) Downloaded 122 times
NormandC
Veteran

Re: From surface to solid. Help needed!

Post by NormandC »

Hello AndarionCG,
AndarionCG wrote:I'm using ubuntu 12.04 LTS, and today i updated freecad to daily build version.