Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Spindoctor
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:19 pm

Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Spindoctor » Sun Apr 25, 2021 4:05 pm

Hello!

I try to generate a Rotate Pattern with a specific loft in FreeCAD 0.20.

FreeCAD wouln't show an error message, however, the copies of the loft do not appear.
Bildschirmfoto-20210425180405-956x818.png
Bildschirmfoto-20210425180405-956x818.png (101.95 KiB) Viewed 225 times
Can you tell me, what I am doing wrong and how to do it right? Or is this a bug?

Thank you in advance!

-----
OS: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid (GNOME/gnome-xorg)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.24693 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e01f0d25d5f3ef9ceb66aa087212121e9f2f2e8b
Python version: 3.9.2
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.1
Locale: German/Austria (de_AT)
Attachments
Rotate Loft Problem.FCStd
(213.01 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Bance
Posts: 1820
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Bance » Sun Apr 25, 2021 5:15 pm

Why did you attach the sketches to datum planes?
chrisb
Posts: 34269
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby chrisb » Sun Apr 25, 2021 5:20 pm

I fumbled quite a lot with this, so I finally cannot say what brought the difference (made things overlap, turned sketches to get seams out of the way, removed useless DatumPlanes, which were attached to generated geometry, attached sketches to sketches unti it worked). Then reverted some of the changes, and it is still ok. You may compare it to your model and try to change yours becoming mine.
Attachments
RotateLoft_cb.FCStd
(171.67 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
SnipScreenshot-369396.png
SnipScreenshot-369396.png (11.45 KiB) Viewed 206 times
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Bance
Posts: 1820
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Bance » Sun Apr 25, 2021 5:32 pm

The loft sketches themselves are not very well constrained, after that is sorted the easiest was just to offset from XY Std plane.
Spindoctor
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Spindoctor » Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:11 pm

Hello and thanks for your replies!

You are right about the planes. The way I used them in my little sketch doesn't make much sense. I trained myself to use planes whenever possible. Is this a bad habbit? What do you think?

However, back to topic:
Thanks to @chrisb's example I think I was able to narrow down the problem and make my example even more "minimal" (please find it attached).

I added an octagon to Sketch001. Interestingly, the PolarPattern works when I drag the vertical line from Sketch001 (the only left degree of freedom) inside the octagon and it fails when I leave it outside (please try it out yourself).
Bildschirmfoto-20210426211006-1890x403.png
Bildschirmfoto-20210426211006-1890x403.png (41.06 KiB) Viewed 151 times
In other words: the polar pattern only works when the "clones" of the Additive Loft overlap.

So I would like to ask again: is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?

By the way: With your help I was already able to solve my initial problem, so I only ask out of "academic" interest and because I want FreeCAD to get better and better ;)
Attachments
Rotate Loft Problem 2.FCStd
(207.86 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Bance
Posts: 1820
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Bance » Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:22 pm

So I was wasting my time?
chrisb
Posts: 34269
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby chrisb » Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:37 pm

Spindoctor wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:11 pm
The way I used them in my little sketch doesn't make much sense. I trained myself to use planes whenever possible. Is this a bad habbit? What do you think?
Always using DatumPlanes seems to be a case of personal preferences. In general I use DatumPlanes only if I have more than one sketch in the same plane, and even then I often attach one sketch to another. I do this because it keeps the model tree cleaner. Planes have the advantage, that you can make them directly visible.
So I would like to ask again: is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?
I am not sure and would like to add an additional model, where I replaced the loft with a pad. The instances don't overlap as well, but the Pattern works anyway.
I would guess that it is an OCC issue, but as I'm not sure please add a ticket.
Attachments
RotatePadWorks.FCStd
(110.72 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
GlouGlou
Posts: 3004
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:02 am
Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby GlouGlou » Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:36 pm

I think sketches must go to the y axle to avoid trouble.
Attachments
Rotate.FCStd
(204.86 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (31.08 KiB) Viewed 110 times
Spindoctor
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Spindoctor » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:30 pm

Bance wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:22 pm
So I was wasting my time?
not at all!

I am grateful for every help I can get and your hint definitely got me closer to both: a more concise minimal example and the solution of my initial problem!
Spindoctor
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Generate Rotate Pattern with Specific Loft

Postby Spindoctor » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:36 pm

GlouGlou wrote:
Mon Apr 26, 2021 8:36 pm
I think sketches must go to the y axle to avoid trouble.
As far as I could investigate the issue, it's definitely a way to attach the sketch to the y axis.

However, it is also enough to let the clones overlap just a little bit.

But I see no obvious reason, why the model should be invalid when the clones do not overlap - as chrisb stated, it works with pads instead of lofts.