Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
FredOP
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:25 pm

Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby FredOP » Wed May 05, 2021 12:38 pm

Can you show me how to cut the thread in the connector body ?
I assume it's made using Boolean Cut but I can't find the right setup.
Attachments
cut.thread.FCStd
(61.32 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
thread.png
thread.png (41.29 KiB) Viewed 288 times
drmacro
Posts: 3402
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby drmacro » Wed May 05, 2021 1:06 pm

Done in Part Design and in Part workbenches:
Snip macro screenshot-d2ae14.png
Snip macro screenshot-d2ae14.png (150.51 KiB) Viewed 281 times
Attachments
cut.thread_inPD.FCStd
(227.34 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
cut.thread_inP.FCStd
(100 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby bambuko » Wed May 05, 2021 1:21 pm

drmacro wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 1:06 pm Done in Part Design...
In PD, why do you have two taps, please?
FredOP
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2020 1:25 pm

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby FredOP » Wed May 05, 2021 1:56 pm

drmacro wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 1:06 pm Done in Part Design and in Part workbenches:
Snip macro screenshot-d2ae14.png
Thanks

So.. I managed to do it by preselecting the "ScrewTap" itself ( not the body), then doing Boolean / Cut.
I don't know why it is working, because the feature is clearly asking for "two or more BODIES", however .. it is working.
Also, I don't think your solution in PD with 2 screwTaps AND the body is correct, as I can barely open it on my dual 32 cores Xeon (not sure which operations are multithreaded in FreeCAD / libocc though)
This is a bit confusing because the screwTap was stolen by the Boolean and the thread Body is now empty.
Maybe it was not in the thread body to begin with ?
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby bambuko » Wed May 05, 2021 2:09 pm

FredOP wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 1:56 pm ...I don't know why it is working, because the feature is clearly asking for "two or more BODIES", however .. it is working...
I can confirm that what you did works easily in Part Design
step 1 - toggle "connector" into active body
step 2 - preselect screw tap
step 3 - click boolean

and hey presto
BTW two bodies are:
1 - active "connector"
2 - preselected screw tap

It is a bit confusing (I mean boolean ;) )
Also - one is supposed to be able to select second body after activating boolean command,
but for some reason with the tap only preselection works... :oops: :roll:
threaded_conn.jpg
threaded_conn.jpg (129.22 KiB) Viewed 229 times
drmacro
Posts: 3402
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby drmacro » Wed May 05, 2021 2:44 pm

bambuko wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 2:09 pm ...

I can confirm that what you did works easily in Part Design
step 1 - toggle "connector" into active body
step 2 - preselect screw tap
step 3 - click boolean

...
But, by doing this you have have mixed Part Design and Part workbench. Not recommended if you don't understand what you've done.

That it works doesn't make it good practice.

That is why in the PD only solution I provided, the tap is d-n-d into the thread body first. Then the Boolean is done between 2 Body objects.

As to your question of why two taps...I have no idea, it does that automagically...
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby bambuko » Wed May 05, 2021 3:13 pm

drmacro wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 2:44 pm ... the tap is d-n-d into the thread body first...
what is d-n-d please?
chrisb
Posts: 35340
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby chrisb » Wed May 05, 2021 3:25 pm

bambuko wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 3:13 pm what is d-n-d please?
Drag-and-drop?

Concerning mixing Part and PartDesign, I think it is easier to understand that applying a Part Cut (or other boolean) to the whole body is allowed, than to understand the PartDesign booleans.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Boolean cut with object from Fasteners in Part Design

Postby bambuko » Wed May 05, 2021 3:34 pm

chrisb wrote: Wed May 05, 2021 3:25 pm ...Drag-and-drop?...
thank you :P


chrisb wrote:...it is easier to understand that applying a Part Cut (or other boolean) to the whole body is allowed, than to understand the PartDesign booleans.
as always I am confused :mrgreen:
I haven't gone anywhere near Part workbench and I used Part Design boolean,
so I didn't use Part Cut (I thought I used Part Design boolean...)

so are we saying that thread tap is part not a body, hence recommendation to avoid mixing the two?

BTW, when following PD d-n-d route, it works fine, but sometimes with following warning:
16:35:32 0 Tree.cpp(302): [TreeView] duplicate child item cut_thread_inPD#Boolean.ScrewTap
16:35:43 10.9076 Tree.cpp(302): [TreeView] duplicate child item cut_thread_inPD#Boolean.ScrewTap
16:36:51 78.8212 Tree.cpp(302): [TreeView] duplicate child item cut_thread_inPD#Boolean.ScrewTap


and (maybe because I am using 0.20)
I had no double vision :lol:
d-n-d_PD.jpg
d-n-d_PD.jpg (167.97 KiB) Viewed 193 times

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 1909
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.24787 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ea96f1860164ff8a6751b21b3fb4d425fc87f5e5
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)