Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
run_the_race
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

Postby run_the_race » Fri May 07, 2021 10:57 am

I started my project with one file per part. I am busy trying to combine all the parts into one file. A left over of this is that SubShapeBinder objects would refer to a linked version of the part. Now the part is directly in the file, so I wish to change the subshapebinder to point directly to the part in the same file.

If I double click on the subshapebinder object nothing happens, and the "Support" property is not editable. Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

I could create new shape binder objects, label them the same, move them into the same position, but I suspect under the hood FreCAD uses the name not label, so I suspect everything will get broken.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10 Version 2004
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24276 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-19
Hash: a88db11e0a908f6e38f92bfc5187b13ebe470438
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.1
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

Postby Chris_G » Fri May 07, 2021 12:29 pm

The "Support" property of a sub-shape binder is read-only.
You can enable write access to the property by selecting the binder in the TreeView and typing this in the python console :

Code: Select all

Gui.Selection.getSelection()[0].setEditorMode("Support", 0)
WARNING : The "Support" property is probably write-protected for a good reason, and I have no idea of the consequences of bypassing it.
So, do it at your own risks, and make backup copies ...
Bance
Posts: 1960
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

Postby Bance » Fri May 07, 2021 4:05 pm

Did you try merge projects?

Std_MergeProjects
run_the_race
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Re: Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

Postby run_the_race » Sun May 09, 2021 4:33 pm

Bance wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 4:05 pm Did you try merge projects?

Std_MergeProjects
That sounds like the tool made for the job. Unfortunately I saw this too late. Have already spent quite a few days on the manually combined version :cry: But thank you, I know for next time and hopefully it helps fellow FreeCAD googlers! :)
run_the_race
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2021 7:22 pm

Re: Is it possible to change the object SubShapeBinder is bound to?

Postby run_the_race » Wed May 12, 2021 10:22 pm

Chris_G wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 12:29 pm The "Support" property of a sub-shape binder is read-only.
You can enable write access to the property by selecting the binder in the TreeView and typing this in the python console :

Code: Select all

Gui.Selection.getSelection()[0].setEditorMode("Support", 0)
WARNING : The "Support" property is probably write-protected for a good reason, and I have no idea of the consequences of bypassing it.
So, do it at your own risks, and make backup copies ...
Thahnks for that, ok sounds like something not to be changed, warning heeded, will stay away from that. :!: