Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve [solved]

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby Yuri » Tue May 18, 2021 7:40 pm

Thank you.
If the drag and drop from my files explorer doesn't do that how do I do it?
User avatar
chennes
Posts: 887
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby chennes » Tue May 18, 2021 8:03 pm

Below the post composing region, there is a set of tabs : "Options" and "Attachments". Choose "Attachments", then click Add files.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby Yuri » Tue May 18, 2021 11:17 pm

I had to divide this post in 2 because I'm stupid. When I reach 5 image files, it won't accept any more.

Have you seen the stamina of wolves when they are on the hunt? This post is important to me.  My hunger got me out in another outing and brought another bone for you all to chew on. I managed to process 3 important files. They look pretty,  below. These are just portions.
BearPartialFCImage.JPG
BearPartialFCImage.JPG (32.73 KiB) Viewed 803 times
which is produced by https://drive.google.com/file/d/1X4Ts_X ... sp=sharing and https://drive.google.com/file/d/1E27JiW ... sp=sharing
InsCradleFCImage.JPG
InsCradleFCImage.JPG (31.29 KiB) Viewed 803 times
which is produced by https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QixH6z ... sp=sharing and https://drive.google.com/file/d/19V_mur ... sp=sharing
BasePartialFC.JPG
BasePartialFC.JPG (19.02 KiB) Viewed 803 times
which is produced by https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mP71UB ... sp=sharing and https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ldTUv7 ... sp=sharing

I kept all the layers red by the scad file so that you can see that more complicated parts are still working in FC with numerous layers and a lot of intersecting geometry.

The scad files will be fetched by FC0.192, however, I do not know if the rotate extrude will work correctly, if not, you'll have to install the newer importCSG.py and the other one.


however, this advance just dragged me into another pit.  Assume that I want them to be exactly that, that you see. Easy,  just make a solid, select it, click export step ... bingo!! Right?  Well, the step export of the first file when brought back to FC looks just as it is seen in the screen shots below.  I went out to hunt again but just managed to find carrion and hard bones.  This one won't yield. 
BearPartialStep1.JPG
BearPartialStep1.JPG (35.74 KiB) Viewed 803 times
BearPartialStep2.JPG
BearPartialStep2.JPG (33.25 KiB) Viewed 803 times
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby Yuri » Tue May 18, 2021 11:23 pm

BearPartialStep3.JPG
BearPartialStep3.JPG (32.24 KiB) Viewed 795 times
The step exports appear to have "bled" geometry inward as seen in the image on the top of the second set. Note the gap in between and the "bled" geometry. Note also in the second image, geometry that shouldn't be there in the first place intersecting awkwardly with actual desired geometry. The FC looks perfect and there is no logical reason for the hidden geometry of the FC file to intersect the seen geometry in its awkward embodiment.

The second file, (InsertCradle) is part of another structure. When I attempt a fetch of the exported step file back into FC, FC dies.  Resuscitation is required. 

The portion you see in the second image from the top down is fetched correctly by FC as seen in the image. The step files when imported back into freecad look as shown below:
InsCradleStepImage.JPG
InsCradleStepImage.JPG (37.39 KiB) Viewed 795 times
Note the partial rotate extrude being ignored in the generated step file.
Out of speculation  i suspect that this may be an outgrow of the issue with the parsed rotate extrude. The parts that I see in the fetched Step file show 360 degrees circular  geometry where it is only say, 100.  I would have not expected that the algorithm that makes the conversion between FC and Step would require proper parsing of that  but maybe,  it does. 

The third file, (base) which is also just a portion of the original file has thrown me back into issues I thought I had overcome. 
One good thing is that I can render a single piece of geometry in openscad and pass that single piece to FC so that I can work my way up to try to figure the identify of the bug. This one could amount to a prehistoric dragon fly the size of an eagle.   I need an entomologist.
 The third image from the top down shows both, the original two 2D images and the resulting union of extrusions of each. This one was working at a time but it got possessed. If in the boolean union I put the rectangle first, I obtain the rectangle. I chewed on this one like a dog after a hunger strike.

The bone is there for you to chew on. 
User avatar
chennes
Posts: 887
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby chennes » Tue May 18, 2021 11:56 pm

What version of OCCT are you on? I think there is a step export bug in 7.5.1, I wonder if this is hitting that.
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby Yuri » Wed May 19, 2021 1:15 am

Hi.
Miniconda navigator says that the version is 7.4.0

I can see updates to 7.5.0; 7.5.1 or 7.5.2.

I don't understand well how anaconda manages the applications on my computer. Blindly I could hit on an update, let it do its thing and assume that at the end I may have the updated version available for FC. I just cross my fingers because I don't understand the innerworkings of anaconda and many other things in computers.

With regards to my post, I wish to say that the simpler prizm, If I make it intersection in openscad instead of union, the intersection will be done correctly in FC.
User avatar
chennes
Posts: 887
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:38 pm
Location: Norman, OK, USA
Contact:

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby chennes » Wed May 19, 2021 1:27 am

What version of OCCT does About FreeCAD report?
Chris Hennes
Pioneer Library System
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby Yuri » Wed May 19, 2021 2:36 am

Open CASCADE Technology 7.5.0
http://www.opencascade.com

I suppose I should be getting the update that you will suggest.

How do either do that directly from FC or otherwise how do I tell anaconda to update and mak it available to FC?

Note that it is the 7.5.0 and not the 7.5.1.
jmaustpc
Posts: 11049
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby jmaustpc » Wed May 19, 2021 4:42 am

Yuri wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 2:36 am Open CASCADE Technology 7.5.0
http://www.opencascade.com

I suppose I should be getting the update that you will suggest.

How do either do that directly from FC or otherwise how do I tell anaconda to update and mak it available to FC?

Note that it is the 7.5.0 and not the 7.5.1.
It helps if you post your "help ...about FreeCAD...copy to clipboard" data from the Help menu within FreeCAD. If you don't understand what we are talking about, see the instructions in the Forum Rules link above this help forum where it is explained in detail.

I don't know anything about anaconda specifically but generally speaking FreeCAD has to be compiled with a specific version of OCC, so you generally can not just upgrade OCC, unless you recompile FreeCAD or find a FreeCAD version for download that has been compiled with that different version of OCC.


Jim
keithsloan52
Posts: 1972
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Postby keithsloan52 » Wed May 19, 2021 6:41 am

Yuri wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 2:36 am Open CASCADE Technology 7.5.0
http://www.opencascade.com

I suppose I should be getting the update that you will suggest.

How do either do that directly from FC or otherwise how do I tell anaconda to update and mak it available to FC?

Note that it is the 7.5.0 and not the 7.5.1.
NO !!!!

What you have installed and what FreeCAD is built with are not necesaarily the same. If you are using FreeCAD 0.19.2 it will be using a version of OCCT with the bug(regression).

As others have said you need to post your FreeCAD versions, details are highlighted in the forum, but I wlll attempt to repeat them here.

On the icon bar you will have something like
496B56F4-43AE-450F-A517-42B5B299DF31_4_5005_c.jpeg
496B56F4-43AE-450F-A517-42B5B299DF31_4_5005_c.jpeg (11.05 KiB) Viewed 681 times
You click on the FreeCAD bit and the first menu item is about FreeCAD, if you click on it you should get something like
529A7CAE-4900-4320-8C22-1AFD9A12377F.jpeg
529A7CAE-4900-4320-8C22-1AFD9A12377F.jpeg (90.3 KiB) Viewed 681 times
If you then click on 'Copy to clipboard'

Then past the clipboard to the forum you should get something like

Code: Select all

OS: macOS 10.15
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24276 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.19.1)
Hash: a88db11e0a908f6e38f92bfc5187b13ebe470438
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
You could have saved yourself a lot of trouble and heart ache if you had followed the forum instructions for this in first place, way back.