Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve [solved]

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10973
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Kunda1 »

KeithS, next time you can direct folks to just read the wiki About page ;)
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
keithsloan52
Posts: 2092
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by keithsloan52 »

Kunda1 wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 12:44 pm KeithS, next time you can direct folks to just read the wiki About page ;)
Except :-) if they are on a Mac as the wiki does not correctly explain for a Mac
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Yuri »

My fault.
I haven't pasted the entire information from FC. I wrongly assumed that judging by the number of posts disclosing version, people following this post would know. No one knows what happened in between.

I will try to post detailed information about those details. That aside, I tried to post a well-explained issue, yet, in a concise manner. Would there be anything else you would like to have?

OS: Windows 10 Version 2004
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-19
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)

And the OCCT
My library tab says:

Open CASCADE Technology 7.5.0

My importCSG.py is possibly the latest developed by chennes.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 10973
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Kunda1 »

keithsloan52 wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 6:27 pm Except :-) if they are on a Mac as the wiki does not correctly explain for a Mac
Oh yeah! Thanks for pointing that out. I'll add it to the wiki ASAIC.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
keithsloan52
Posts: 2092
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by keithsloan52 »

Yuri wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 6:59 pm My fault.
I haven't pasted the entire information from FC. I wrongly assumed that judging by the number of posts disclosing version, people following this post would know. No one knows what happened in between.

I will try to post detailed information about those details. That aside, I tried to post a well-explained issue, yet, in a concise manner. Would there be anything else you would like to have?

OS: Windows 10 Version 2004
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-19
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)

And the OCCT
My library tab says:

Open CASCADE Technology 7.5.0

My importCSG.py is possibly the latest developed by chennes.
My understanding is that OCCT 7.5.0 has the regression see https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 97#p502797
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Yuri »

From the post you sent me to OCC 7.5.0 not good.

My occt says that she is 7.5.0

Thus my job now is to upload a FC version having proper occt.

A later than 0.192 version is my best guess if there is one later than 0.192.
So I will try to do something like that. Sounds good?
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Yuri »

From the post you sent me to OCC 7.5.0 not good.

My occt says that she is 7.5.0

Thus my job now is to upload a FC version having proper occt.

A later than 0.192 version is my best guess if there is one later than 0.192.
So I will try to do something like that. Sounds good?

Chennes in
What version of OCCT are you on? I think there is a step export bug in 7.5.1, I wonder if this is hitting that.
Points out to occ 7.5.1 as the one having the problem.
The post from keith points to 7.5.0 as the one with the issue.

I presume that chennes was just wrong.
keithsloan52
Posts: 2092
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by keithsloan52 »

Yuri wrote: Wed May 19, 2021 9:00 pm From the post you sent me to OCC 7.5.0 not good.

My occt says that she is 7.5.0

Thus my job now is to upload a FC version having proper occt.

A later than 0.192 version is my best guess if there is one later than 0.192.
So I will try to do something like that. Sounds good?

Chennes in
What version of OCCT are you on? I think there is a step export bug in 7.5.1, I wonder if this is hitting that.
Points out to occ 7.5.1 as the one having the problem.
The post from keith points to 7.5.0 as the one with the issue.

I presume that chennes was just wrong.
I don't think Chris is wrong. Not sure when exactly the regression occurred, but according to https://tracker.freecadweb.org/view.php?id=4610 it is still present in 7.5.1 and fixed in 7.5.2.

I would try FreeCAD 0.19.1 my install has OCC 7.4.0 and is pre the regression which occurred some time between 7.4.0 and 7.5.0
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Yuri »

It is important to note at this point that:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)

does import the simple boolean prism (base) correctly and allows its proper use in later booleans. I believe this may be important: one, because whatever is happening is limiting 0.192 to conduct this simple boolean itself and two, because I'm having issues conducting booleans in 0.192 in which I build a solid of 2 components which is then subtracted another solid of 2 components with asterisks in the tree. I don't expect an answer to issue number 2 because I'm not providing enough information, however, you may have enough information for issue one which may in the end solve issue 2.
Yuri
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 1:14 am

Re: Have an Openscad to Freecad conundrum to solve

Post by Yuri »

Another important thing to note is that:

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/Canada (en_CA)

does produce a good step file, instead of the step file with defects presented in this post. It is thus somewhat precise to point the OCC 7.5.0 an/or the 7.5.1 as liable for faulty steps in this post.
Post Reply