Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
mfraz74
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 9:19 am

Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby mfraz74 » Tue May 11, 2021 9:12 am

I've created a pad and loft in FreeCAD 0.19 and combined the 2 bodies using the boolean function. I now want to fillet edges 13-15, but I just get "Failed to create fillet".

Fairly new to using FreeCAD and filleting is the thing that I'm struggling with most.
Attachments
Edges for filleting
Edges for filleting
freeCAD.png (27.99 KiB) Viewed 485 times
Resistor Box Test.FCStd
Resistor box
(42.12 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby bambuko » Tue May 11, 2021 10:29 am

mfraz74 wrote: ...
You don't need boolean to create your box.
Additive loft is simply the next feature in the box body.
As for fillets... all CAD systems are struggling with them.
You are asking for a lot ;)
So FreeCAD can easily cope with what I have drawn, but whether it is what you need is another story...

Maybe someone who knows more than I do will come up with an answer. but somehow I doubt :P
fillet.jpg
fillet.jpg (151.78 KiB) Viewed 461 times


Resistor Box Test(bambuko).FCStd
(72.9 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
mfraz74
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 9:19 am

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby mfraz74 » Tue May 11, 2021 10:42 am

Unfortunately the dimensions I made mine are the dimensions it needs to be.
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 3611
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby papyblaise » Tue May 11, 2021 11:22 am

you must all do in the same body
I don't understand why if I do 2 Pads, one on top of the other it doesn't work, the dividing line doesn't disappear after Refine = true, it annoys me :mrgreen:
But if I take the opposite solution: a big box then remove the support leg, the result is perfect :P
Attachments
resistor box.FCStd
(53.2 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
resistor box.PNG
resistor box.PNG (11.62 KiB) Viewed 445 times
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby bambuko » Tue May 11, 2021 1:09 pm

papyblaise wrote: Tue May 11, 2021 11:22 am ...
but the loft is missing, so the walls are not tapered ;)
Bance
Posts: 1958
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby Bance » Tue May 11, 2021 2:23 pm

Two things here, a pad is ok because one can use a draft.

A big loft is ok because the excess can be pocketed away after...

smiles all round :D :D :D :D :D
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby bambuko » Tue May 11, 2021 2:59 pm

Bance wrote: Tue May 11, 2021 2:23 pm ...a pad is ok because one can use a draft...
Good point, I have forgotten about it ;)
but I am still left with the fillet that OP wanted (along selected edge) and it just doesn't work ... (at least for me)
3rdtry.jpg
3rdtry.jpg (94.27 KiB) Viewed 342 times
User avatar
papyblaise
Posts: 3611
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 4:28 pm
Location: France

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby papyblaise » Tue May 11, 2021 3:02 pm

Ho :!: I had not seen this detail
I propose an acceptable solution (I hope) by making a pocket high enough to make the fillet and the Draft on top
Attachments
Resistor Box 2.FCStd
(74.33 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 531
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby bambuko » Tue May 11, 2021 3:08 pm

papyblaise wrote: Tue May 11, 2021 3:02 pm ...I propose an acceptable solution...
Well... it would be good enough for me :mrgreen:
chrisb
Posts: 35340
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Can't create fillet between two bodies.

Postby chrisb » Tue May 11, 2021 5:04 pm

Draft is a vulnerable function as far as the topological naming is concerned - similar to the fillets.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.