luxrender installation

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
hast66
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 10:30 am

luxrender installation

Postby hast66 » Wed May 12, 2021 12:06 pm

Hi,
In FC 0.19, I used the add on manager to add the render WB. no problem

In the tutorials mentioned at first, is to state the location of the luxrender executable. But I can't find it. A total search of my C drive gave me some luxrender* files in the appdata folder. but no luxrender.exe. (or luxconsole.exe)

What am I missing?

btw I first tries to do the same with POV-ray but i couldn't find its exe either.
drmacro
Posts: 3391
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: luxrender installation

Postby drmacro » Wed May 12, 2021 1:39 pm

I went round and round with this.

My solution? Export to wavefront and import into Blender. 8-)

At least until the Render WB matures. :(
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."

My beginners, written treatise: Learning FreeCAD
howetuft
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:16 pm

Re: luxrender installation

Postby howetuft » Sat May 15, 2021 1:14 pm

@hast66
The correct executable name is 'luxcoreui.exe', not 'luxrender.exe' (which is deprecated).
Of course, you should have installed LuxCore on your computer beforehand (https://luxcorerender.org/download/).