How to scale a stl file that I imported

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
joonryu

How to scale a stl file that I imported

Post by joonryu »

Hello, I am very new to freeCAD and I am trying to learn this software. While doing a 3d print project, I was planning to import an already existing 3d stl file and edit(scale) it so that I could use it in my project. I looked up how to scale a 3d object and found out that I had to clone an object in draftWB and scale it. However, my freeCAD doesnt seem to have the clone tool in draftWB. My version is 0.19 and I'm pretty sure I didn't touch any of the settings to make the tool disappear.Image

From the instructions and videos I watch, there was a blue sheep icon for the clone tool, but mine doesnt have it.
I might be missing out something really simple since I am new to this. So I would be glad if someone could point it out for me. Thanks.
thomas-neemann
Veteran

Re: How to scale a stl file that I imported

Post by thomas-neemann »

joonryu wrote: Fri May 14, 2021 12:42 pm
is that helpful?

https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Mesh_Scale
Gruß Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Neemann

https://www.youtube.com/@thomasneemann5 ... ry=freecad
joonryu

Post by joonryu »

Thank you. It seems helpful. But I have one more question.
Is there any way I can directly scale a 3d body? I also have some step files I got from the web, and I think it would be easier to edit it as a solid.
thomas-neemann
Veteran

Post by thomas-neemann »

joonryu wrote: Fri May 14, 2021 1:49 pm Thank you. It seems helpful. But I have one more question.
Is there any way I can directly scale a 3d body? I also have some step files I got from the web, and I think it would be easier to edit it as a solid.
here is an example

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpM3AMPXpDY

phpBB [video]