Problem resetting window layout in FreeCAD

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Bob Shaw
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2021 4:44 pm

Problem resetting window layout in FreeCAD

Postby Bob Shaw » Fri May 14, 2021 4:01 pm

I have messed up the window layout within FreeCAD, and I cannot seem to get back to the "original" layout (using 19.1 24276 with Win10). In desperation, I've uninstalled FreeCAD (including preferences) and re-installed, but the messed up windows within FreeCAD are still there.

I foolishly tried to set the Combo window to display both Model and Tasks instead of using the tabs.

Any suggestions as to what hidden file/directory etc. I need to delete? I'm plagued by a light blue screen area which appears if I try to move the Combo View window to fill space just under the tools area. I've set Win10 NOT to automatically move windows with no result. Any ideas WELCOMED!
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Problem resetting window layout in FreeCAD

Postby bambuko » Fri May 14, 2021 5:06 pm

Bob Shaw
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2021 4:44 pm

Re: Problem resetting window layout in FreeCAD

Postby Bob Shaw » Fri May 14, 2021 7:07 pm

Thank you bambuko for your reply. Unfortunately this did not restore with the original window pattern in FreeCAD -- it retained the messed up window placements etc. in spite of deleting C:\Users\USER\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD (includes system.cfg and user.cfg).

Any other thoughts to get the original window configuration back (without reinstalling Windows I hope!!!)?
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Problem resetting window layout in FreeCAD

Postby bambuko » Fri May 14, 2021 7:47 pm

So, you actually deleted FreeCAD folder in \Roaming ?
followed by re-installing of FreeCAD?

Whatever you do to recover, learn your lesson and keep backup copy of *.cfg files to replace them when you mess things up again :mrgreen:
(I am talking from personal experience of doing exactly that... :lol: )