Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
leoheck
Posts: 612
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Postby leoheck » Sun May 16, 2021 7:38 pm

I work with .step files a lot. And every time when I import them, Freecad asks to save a file.
This is so much annoying!

Also, I cannot use Freecad to visualize step files quickly, because I always have to save something.
It also slows down the workflow when I import a .step file using A2Plus.

Is this a bug or an end-user configuration? It was not like this in the past.
If this is not a bug, how can I disable this feature?

OS: Ubuntu 21.04 (ubuntu:GNOME/ubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.9.2
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.1
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
chrisb
Posts: 35143
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Postby chrisb » Sun May 16, 2021 8:35 pm

leoheck wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 7:38 pm I work with .step files a lot. And every time when I import them, Freecad asks to save a file.
I have never seen this. I recommend to try to reset the config file.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
leoheck
Posts: 612
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Postby leoheck » Mon May 17, 2021 3:15 pm

Yeap, this solved the issue.

Is it possible that a Workbench is creating this behavior?
Do you know any good way to track what is generating this?
chrisb
Posts: 35143
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Postby chrisb » Mon May 17, 2021 5:07 pm

leoheck wrote: Mon May 17, 2021 3:15 pm Do you know any good way to track what is generating this?
A long time ago I tried to trace a config file bug. I tried to compare before and after states of the user.cfg file and finally gave up, because the sequence of the entries changed in a for me uncomprehensible way. It became less important, because the error I was hunting for, had vanished by other fixes. So no, I have no good idea how to trace this.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 2931
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Postby thomas-neemann » Mon May 17, 2021 5:49 pm

leoheck wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 7:38 pm
can you upload a test file or shoot a video of it?
falls ein video-link von mir schwarz und nicht anklickbar sein sollte, hier der kanal: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... 03GgKekj_g
es ist auch möglich auf antworten zu klicken um den link zu sehen.
leoheck
Posts: 612
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: Freecad asks to save a file when importing .step file.

Postby leoheck » Tue May 18, 2021 1:54 pm

This behavior is pretty weird. I was trying to record the screen to show you the issue.
Then it looks like Freecad behaves differently the first time you import a step file.

In short, it looks like I have found the settings that might be creating this behavior.
Having the Part Design Workbench selected, this is driven by the
Edit > Preferences > Import-Export > STEP (tab) > Import (Section) > Mode

What I want is to import a .step file without merging internal parts so I have control over individual parts of the assembly.

Then the first thing I do when I download a fresh copy of the Freecad is to change the import mode from the default "Single Document" to "Assembly per Object"

However, there is no Tooltip on this importing Mode explaining what each of those modes does.

The second weird thing is that now, the "Single document" is importing the assembly fine. Without merging into a single part.