Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
edwilliams16
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby edwilliams16 » Sun May 16, 2021 8:24 pm

I wanted to play with this. In the addon manager, I added it via the configure https://github.com/realthunder/FreeCAD_assembly3
When I start up FreeCAD, I now get the error message

Code: Select all

09:57:29  3.979707 <asm3.main> init_gui.py(14): no solver backend found
which very much sounds like it won't work.

Is this broken, or should I ignore this? Can anyone point me at a simple example of some object constrained to rotate around some axis?

OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.19.2)
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.8
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: C/Default (C)
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby bambuko » Sun May 16, 2021 9:56 pm

Yes, it is a problem.
You can copy assembly folder from Link branch and it will be fine.

https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=57462
edwilliams16
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby edwilliams16 » Sun May 16, 2021 10:18 pm

The bottom line was to replace the

Code: Select all

...FreeCAD/Mod/FreeCAD_assembly3/freecad/asm3
folder with the corresponding folder from an install of realthunder's branch?

EDIT
I just recursively diffed the two assembly3 Mod/ directories between my current FreeCAD and the daily FreeCAD-linkstage3 and they are identical. So I didn't try this.
edwilliams16
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby edwilliams16 » Mon May 17, 2021 4:51 am

Couldn't get asm3 to work with the release 0.19.24291.
However it did work with
OS: macOS High Sierra (10.13)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.24894 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a378b6b66f8a5992fc1452567ff59bdb613abc80
Python version: 3.9.4
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.2
Locale: C/Default (C)
chrisb
Posts: 35157
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby chrisb » Mon May 17, 2021 5:58 am

Assembly3 needs an additional library which isn't included in master. However, Looo packages it with some (all/conda?) versions.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: UK, England, North Devon

Re: Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby bambuko » Mon May 17, 2021 6:57 am

edwilliams16 wrote: Sun May 16, 2021 10:18 pm I just recursively diffed the two assembly3 Mod/ directories between my current FreeCAD and the daily FreeCAD-linkstage3 and they are identical. So I didn't try this.
Sorry for being so brief and imprecise in my answer (time difference meant I was falling asleep while typing reply ;) )
Directories might look the same but their content is not - there is a problem with solver in 0.19
(as chrisb says some things are not included...)
If you had copied rather than recursively diffed it would have worked :mrgreen:
(I know because I have done it in the days when I still used 0.19)

Anyway, you have found the easiest solution - 0.20 has been sorted out and works OK.

As for your second question (examples), you could do worse than have a look at excellent webpage on the subject (including examples) by jpg87:
http://help-freecad-jpg87.fr/02_ass_ind.php
edwilliams16
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:31 pm
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Installing Assembly3 Workbench

Postby edwilliams16 » Tue May 18, 2021 1:33 am

Actually I did try a copy, just in case it all depended on the top directory name somehow - but it didn't work with my particular build.
The reference link was very useful. I hadn't found useful tutorial stuff on the web.