Manual B-Spline 'Text' as Hollow Numbers

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Lukeyson

Manual B-Spline 'Text' as Hollow Numbers

Post by Lukeyson »

I am quite new to Freecad and struggling with a particular project.

I currently have some stainless steel numbers near my letterbox - 1 and 6 - each about 20cm in height. I would like to create a clear hollow 'box' under each letter in the shape of each letter, 20mm high, install a 12V led strip, and re-attach the numbers on top of this. Effectively an 'illuminated stand-off'. This is therefore a 3D print project using clear PETG.

I have taken an accurate photo of each number, and in FreeCad traced an outline of each number using unconstrained b-splines. A quick print of a 1mm pad of each confirms I have my size and shape just about right.

From there I thought it would be a simple matter of extruding or padding and using the thickness tool to hollow out each letter - but with an 'inward' or negative thickness since I need the letter to be the outline. Indeed the 1 works perfectly fine. But the 6 I cannot get to work - even if I remove the 'hole' in the middle of the 6, I can't get the padded/extruded 6 to create a thickness at all. Ideally I'd prefer the 'hole' in the six if I could.

Is there any other approach I could or should use to create the custom numbers 1 and 6 as hollow open-bottom boxes for my project? (I am running build 24894)

Luke Plaizier
Attachments
Illuminated Letterbox Numbers v0.1.FCStd
(107.49 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Manual B-Spline 'Text' as Hollow Numbers

Post by chrisb »

Thickness frequently fails if B-splines are involved. You can try to work with Part->2DOffset with filling the gap.