unable to moving object

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
confrey
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:56 pm

unable to moving object

Postby confrey » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:30 am

hi everybody

here my freecad :

OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra
Platform: 64-bit
Version: 0.14.3167 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: bb98b5afb0890d786da88aaf8dc8bf05872c5d7a
Python version: 2.7.5+
Qt version: 4.8.4
Coin version: 4.0.0a
SoQt version: 1.5.0
OCC version: 6.7.0

I'm a newbye in freecad; I'm operating as belowe :

- starting in Part Design
- creating a sketch
- making a Prism by sketch
- going in Draft
- trying to move the solid, first I can move it by mouse, but when I release the lfet mopuse button, the solid is again in its initial position; trying more times this procedure, I get this condition :
freecad_no_move.png
freecad_no_move.png (104.96 KiB) Viewed 1481 times
all the tools are not selectable; and I can't understand why I can't select and change object data in 'Placemet', they all are unselectable too

thanks
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3803
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: unable to moving object

Postby quick61 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:40 am

With a solid made from a sketch, you must move the base sketch, not the pad or pocket. If your are wanting to move it for an assembly, you should either use Part > Create simple copy or export it in a format like .step and use that exported part to move around. If not, select the very first sketch you made and move it. The base sketch is the object that is movable as everything else is linked to it.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
confrey
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:56 pm

Re: unable to moving object

Postby confrey » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:28 pm

many thanks, and excuse me for so simply questions, I know many basic concepts are missing to me
regards
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3803
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: unable to moving object

Postby quick61 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:48 pm

confrey wrote:many thanks, and excuse me for so simply questions, I know many basic concepts are missing to me
regards
Your welcome, and no problem. All of us had to start somewhere, and I have found once we can get the basics across to a new user, the rest will fall in line. Provided of course the new user makes an effort to learn and understand. Anything that is not clear, please do not hesitate to ask.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?