HELP - Failed to Validate Broken Face - Fully Constrained

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jwhitten

HELP - Failed to Validate Broken Face - Fully Constrained

Post by jwhitten »

Hello,

Thanks to everyone who's worked to make FreeCAD such a cool thing!

I'm new to FreeCAD coming from Fusion360. In general, it seems a little different, but similar enough. I've been getting up to speed by making little test parts.

In this example, I am simulating making a machined plate of some sort.

I created a sketch that contains a rectangle, fully-constrained, and inside it, a set of four holes (or rather, eight holes in concentric pairs to make recessed-bolt holes). These holes are constrained by making them coincident with the corner points of a second rectangle drawn from construction lines. Finally, one of the holes is dimensionally-constrained horiz/vert to a point in the outer rectangle, making the whole geometry fully-constrained.

When I go to PAD the sketch, it keeps tossing up a "Failed to Validate Broken Face" error and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. All my constraints seem correct. I have the correct number of holes and lines. The sketch validator found no issues. But I keep getting the error. Any idea what I'm doing wrong here?

I've included the test file for your perusal.

(I would also include a screenshot, but I'm not sure how to do that with this forum software.)

Thanks!!

JWhitten

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-19
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Attachments
FailedToValidateBrokenFace.FCStd