understanding "applications"

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
proudfatherde

understanding "applications"

Post by proudfatherde »

First of all, thanks in advance. Everything about Freecad is free so I am thankful to all of you. That said, after many, many hours I am about to throw in the towel Freecad in utter frustration. I am a hobbyist woodworker trying to create very simple structures (e.g. a cart) made of plywood and 2x4's in freecad. This is proving almost impossible. After watching hours of videos on youtube here is where I am getting confused:

1) I am not grasping the concept of "applications" vis-a-vis "bodies". Let me explain: I want to design several lengths of 2x4 cut at various angles and join them to several pieces of plywood. In some videos it instructs you to create each piece as a separate "application" (i.e. file) and then create a final application at the end to join them together. While other videos instruct you to have all of the "bodies" under one "application." This is confusing
2) You must have an "add-in" to join/assemble you bodies (e.g. a2plus). This seems like a fundamental functionality that would be central to the software and not an add-in. Also, the various joining add-ins work very differently and impact how you create your "bodies"

Can someone please give some guidance?

thanks
Mark
chrisb
Veteran

Re: understanding "applications"

Post by chrisb »

There is not yet an assembly workbench in the FreeCAD core system. We hope that the future will bring it, and we hope it will include the advantages of all current addon assembly workbenches, namely A2plus, Assembly3, Assembly4, while avoiding all disadvantages.