How to use expressions as in OpenScad

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
g0erwt

How to use expressions as in OpenScad

Post by g0erwt »

hello,
I'm completely new to FreeCAD but have some basic experience with OpenScad. What I appreciate in OpenScad is the use of mathematical expressions.
What I'm looking for is a tutorial in FreeCAD how these OpenSCAD-features work in FreeCAD.
I uploaded a model, made in OpenSCAD, and looked at the output in FreeCAD. A puzzle I couldn't solve. None of the expression I used were reffered.
B.t.w. I also worked with other packages, but prefer the logic and stability of a mathematical description in favor of GUI's. The reason is that I can still type text but have problems handling de cursor.

Update: 2021-07-21, 12:15
I'm reffering to the original OpenSCAD software, not the FreeCAD OpenSCAD-Workbench.
In the original OpenSCAD I can use mathematical expression. I'm familar with that. I see no direct equivalent of that in FreeCAD/OpenSCAD-Workbench.
Last edited by g0erwt on Wed Jul 21, 2021 10:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
keithsloan52
Veteran

Re: How to use expressions as in OpenScad

Post by keithsloan52 »

g0erwt wrote: Tue Jul 20, 2021 4:02 pm hello,
I'm completely new to FreeCAD but have some basic experience with OpenScad. What I appreciate in OpenScad is the use of mathematical expressions.
What I'm looking for is a tutorial in FreeCAD how these OpenSCAD-features work in FreeCAD.
I uploaded a model, made in OpenSCAD, and looked at the output in FreeCAD. A puzzle I couldn't solve. None of the expression I used were reffered.
Are you referring to the OpenSCAD workbench?