Best working external IDE to import FreeCAD in 2021

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
superson1c

Best working external IDE to import FreeCAD in 2021

Post by superson1c »

Hi all,

I am a mechanical design engineer and I was searching for a free CAD software.
After some disappointments, I found FreeCAD.
And I am really impressed!
Thumbs up to all the contributors!

Now to my question. I want to import FreeCAD into an external IDE.
It should include the possibility to show a simple visualization of the 3D-model.
Yes, this was often discussed in this forum... I read through many threads.
But: I did not find anybody with a solution that worked fine. Also many threads were old.

So I want to revive the question.
Which is the best working external IDE to import FreeCAD?
Thank you.

Cheers
superson1c
heda
Veteran

Re: Best working external IDE to import FreeCAD in 2021

Post by heda »

hi and welcome to the forum.

hm...
"It should include the possibility to show a simple visualization of the 3D-model."

In the external ide?

we all have dreams and visions of what "should be possible", often with the notion "how hard can it be" :-)

if you don't see your envisioned "way of working" after having scanned the forum,
it is very likely that it is one of those "it is really hard", in fact so hard that the people that potentially sits on the knowledge to do it - simply don't,
because they know what time sink it would be, or that the judged probability of hitting a brick wall is too high...

your question is an "effect description", i.e. I want it to work like this when it is done.
to get there you need an "implementation description", i.e. how to actually make it work.