Sketch on body face flipping problem

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
yakirsh4

Sketch on body face flipping problem

Post by yakirsh4 »

Hello,

I am new to FREECAD and I have a peculiar problem when attempting to create a sketch on a body face.
I am attempting to create a sketch (to create a "hole" in the body) on this face:
When I click the face and then click "Create a new sketch" the created sketch is "flipped":
I can go along with this flipping and create the sketch I want (and it's working fine) but this is pretty annoying working like this.

I would like to know if I am doing something wrong here or if there is a way to flip the sketch again.
Just to clarify, I don't want to flip the display with the cube in the right top corner but to flip the entire sketch.
The difference is that with the "flipped" configuration the horizontal and vertical lines are also flipped.

Thank you.
drmacro
Veteran

Re: Sketch on body face flipping problem

Post by drmacro »

Did you try the "Reverse" setting when creating the new sketch?

And, be aware attaching sketches to generated geometry is not recommended:

Topological naming problem
Advice for creating stable models
Basic Attachment Tutorial
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan: Spock: "...His pattern indicates two-dimensional thinking."
chrisb
Veteran

Post by chrisb »

You didn't do anything wrong, it's a matter where FreeCAD places the origin. Better control of the attachment as drmacro has pointed out can help. If vertical/horizontal is flipped, you can also turn the sketch by ±90° in the AttachmentOffset properties.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
Shalmeneser
Veteran

Post by Shalmeneser »