Creating fillets between surfaces

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
contradict
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:07 pm

Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by contradict »

I would like to add a generous fillet between each of the cylinders inside this cone and the inside face of the cone. Selecting the Fillet tool always fails, is there some other way to build this shape so I can have a fillet there?
Screenshot_SensorHousing.png
Screenshot_SensorHousing.png (16.72 KiB) Viewed 1135 times
Attachments
SensorHousing.FCStd
(177.78 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
GeneFC
Posts: 2839
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by GeneFC »

contradict wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:13 pm I would like to add a generous fillet between each of the cylinders inside this cone and the inside face of the cone.
It is not quite clear where you want the fillets. At the bottom? All the way up the cylinders, thereby attaching them to the cone?

In any case you will almost certainly need to draw them in some manner. There is approximately zero chance that the ordinary fillet operations will work.

Gene
domad
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 12:16 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by domad »

contradict wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:13 pm .......
Hi contradict, welcome (!), Greetings to the Community!
...is this what you want?
Attachments
SensorHousing-2.gif
SensorHousing-2.gif (668.08 KiB) Viewed 1052 times
contradict
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:07 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by contradict »

Yes, that looks just right! How did you do that?
domad
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 12:16 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by domad »

contradict wrote: Mon Sep 20, 2021 8:38 pm Yes, that looks just right! How did you do that?
Hi contradict, greetings to the Community!
Since the fillet functions of "Part Design", in these cases, are unlikely to produce a fillet of predetermined dimensions (see what said above from @GeneFC), I limited myself only to adding a workflow to obtain the required fillet , I have not changed anything in the original file.
The radius set is R = 3 mm.
I created 3 appropriate Sketches and then with the "Additive pipe" function I made the fillet.
Attached is the modeling link.
http://www.filedropper.com/sensorhousing2
A greeting
Attachments
SensorHousing2.png
SensorHousing2.png (285.32 KiB) Viewed 932 times
contradict
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:07 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by contradict »

Thank you, that is very helpful!
contradict
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:07 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by contradict »

Sorry, I still can't replicate your model. I was able to create the three sketches, but I can't figure out how you defined the path to sweep along. I see you selected the Box object and added edges Edge10 and Edge9. I am able to select the Box, but can't figure out how to select any edges. How did you create those edge objects?
EdgeSelection.png
EdgeSelection.png (12.12 KiB) Viewed 772 times
domad
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 12:16 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by domad »

contradict wrote: Wed Sep 22, 2021 6:48 pm ... I am able to select the Box, but can't figure out how to select any edges. How did you create those edge objects?
Hi contradict, greetings to the Community!
Unfortunately, I couldn't answer earlier.
Here in a * .gif the workflow to get the fittings. ;)
A greeting
Attachments
Fillets_SensorHousing-2.gif
Fillets_SensorHousing-2.gif (628.42 KiB) Viewed 683 times
contradict
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2021 6:07 pm

Re: Creating fillets between surfaces

Post by contradict »

Wonderful, I never thought to try in wireframe draw style. That was the piece I needed, thank you for your patient help.
Post Reply