I can draw one, but I can't parameterize it

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
efair

I can draw one, but I can't parameterize it

Post by efair »

First things first: I'm fairly new to FreeCAD. I'm probably missing some obvious feature or doing something foolish.

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.Unknown
Build type: Unknown
Python version: 3.9.4
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

I manually created the attached part for discussion. Surely there must be a common name for this type of part? With my limited knowledge, I would call it "a bushing with two opposing helical slots machined into it".

Each slot is defined by a rectangle swept along a helix . There are two helixes and two sketches for two rectangles. The rectangles are the profiles of the sweeps.

While I can easily create this part, I want to parametrize it so that I can adjust critical dimensions without manually recreating the part every time. I am familiar with the Spreadsheet workbench, creating aliases, and using the aliases in the f(x) dialog. However, the rectangles in the sketches do not seem to allow using the aliases or the f(x) dialog.

For example:
- I might need to change the diameter of the tube - this requires changes to the X height of the rectangles.
- I might need to change width of the slots - this requires changes to the Z height of the rectangles.
- I might need to change the height of the tube - this requires changes to the Z position of the rectangles.

In general, I'm looking for a way to fully parametrize the geometry of the slots in my part.

Any suggestions for how to do this?
Attachments
slottedbushing.FCStd
(45.13 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
Bance
Veteran