OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
jehojakim
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 7:07 pm

OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by jehojakim »

Hi,

Another newbie....

I use FreeCAD_0.19-24291-Linux-Conda_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage on OpenSuse tumbleweed for a few days now. For a start, the tutorial at https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Manual:Trad ... D_drafting is my guide. There, one has to draw a rectangle of 2 by 2 m. No problem. After that, one has to duplicate that, by using the Offset tool, with Copy mode selected, and a distance of 15 cm.

When I choose the Offset tool, I get a dialogue window below Tasks, where I can fill in the distance and check the Copy button. But I don't see a OK button, to confirm my choices an create the new rectangle. No Cancel or Apply buttons either. So it seems impossible to fulfil that task this way.

Of course one can do it in the 3d-view, but that lacks the necessary accuracy.

Am I doing something wrong?

regards, jehojakim
Bance
Posts: 2264
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by Bance »

Did you try pressing enter(carriage return)?
jehojakim
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 7:07 pm

Re: OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by jehojakim »

Yes, I did. Didn't do anything.
User avatar
Willem
Posts: 1615
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Lisse, The Netherlands

Re: OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by Willem »

Welcome to the forum
Have a look on this Wiki page https://wiki.freecadweb.org/Draft_Offset.
My guess is you forgot to pick the side for offset inwards or outwards
jehojakim
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 7:07 pm

Re: OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by jehojakim »

Hi Willem,

Thanks for your welcome, and for your reply, which helped me going. Apparently, one has to put the mouse pointer in the 3-d view, and while keeping it there, enter the value of the distance. This works, thanks!

Ignorantly, I would have expected to go with the mouse in the Offset Tasks window, and then enter the value of the distance, e.g. negative for outwards, positive for inwards. Also, not having a Cancel-Apply-OK set of buttons in the taskbar leaves a newbie somewhat puzzled.

Learned something again!
User avatar
Roy_043
Posts: 3729
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by Roy_043 »

Draft Offset is a tricky command. I have tried to improved the instructions: Draft_Offset.
User avatar
thomas-neemann
Posts: 3817
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:03 pm
Location: Osnabrück DE

Re: OK-button in offset tol, Draaft mode

Post by thomas-neemann »

jehojakim wrote: Sat Sep 25, 2021 2:35 pm
In my experience, the 2d offset commando from the part workbench works better, except to create parallel lines, which is better from draft.
falls ein video-link von mir schwarz und nicht anklickbar sein sollte, hier der kanal: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVcztV ... 03GgKekj_g
es ist auch möglich auf antworten zu klicken um den link zu sehen.
Post Reply