STL Mesh to Part. Need some ideas for getting photogrammetry to FreeCAD part

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
wwwsam

STL Mesh to Part. Need some ideas for getting photogrammetry to FreeCAD part

Post by wwwsam »

Hi,

Im fairly new to CAD in general and I've run into a dead end trying to get a mesh model of my car boot (created by photogrammetry) into a workable FreeCAD part.

Ultimately, I would like to model the curves behind the rear wheel arch so that I can make an enclosure that fits snuggly in the area.

I've tried Mesh Design and Part WB and haven't really gotten very far.
Out of desperation I've managed to make a cutout using the cut boolean operation. However, I cannot apply the thickness tool on it as it errors out.

Whats the best way to go about this?
Will I have to just suck it up and just try to trace it? If so, is there a good tutorial/suggestions on tracing/drawing curved shapes?

Edit: Doing a Part->Cross-sections might be a way forward. However, I can only Loft 2 cross-sections at a time, otherwise I get "DRepFill :: profiles are inconsistent".

I have attached some screenshots for a better idea:

The original Mesh model:
Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (911.36 KiB) Viewed 2451 times

Decimated mesh model:
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (246.23 KiB) Viewed 2451 times

Rear of the Lazy cutout that doesn't work:
Capture3.PNG
Capture3.PNG (174.29 KiB) Viewed 2451 times

Any help/suggestions are appreciated.
thomas-neemann
Veteran

Re: STL Mesh to Part. Need some ideas for getting photogrammetry to FreeCAD part

Post by thomas-neemann »

wwwsam wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 5:54 am

is that helpful? from min 2:30

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oH7X3fk56o

phpBB [video]

3.png
3.png (45.19 KiB) Viewed 2416 times
1.png
1.png (164.93 KiB) Viewed 2416 times

2.png