Convert .psp to .svg

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
petert7

Convert .psp to .svg

Post by petert7 »

Hello,

I'm a beginner to FreeCAD and have fallen over at the first hurdle. Basically, I've drawn lots of motor racing circuits using a vector drawing package called PaintShopPro (version 7, the later versions confuse me). These vector drawings are saved as .psp, but there is no facility to save as .svg. [The latest PSP v22 can import .svg files, but not save as .svg files.]

I've tried googling and installed lots of promising applications, but I cannot find a way of converting from .psp to a vectored .svg, not even via other formats. I have managed to get to a flat .svg, which I don't believe is any use when it comes to extruding.

With PaintShopPro, I can save as a .png, which I was hoping would be of use, but I dragged it into FreeCAD without luck (I just get a black image).

Please bear in mind that I'm fairly useless with PaintShopPro; I only need the simple things (vectors, layers, er, vectors) and can cope more than adequately with them. I expect to be the same with FreeCAD.

Thanks.
Willem
Veteran

Re: Convert .psp to .svg

Post by Willem »

Welcome to the forum.
Try an online converter.
I am not sure but I think Inkscape can do the job
ragohix769

Post by ragohix769 »

You can easily convert these shapes with Inkscape. Convert your *.psp projects in some raster format (*.png it's ok) and then import in Inkscape to create a vector from it. Try to find some tutorial on how to convert a raster to vector. IE (but you have a lot of tutorials there to explore):

phpBB [video]
After #ElonMuskBuyTwitter I'm no more on Twitter, that's really enough :-(
=> Now you can find me here on #Mastodon: https://mastodon.uno/@opensoul - I hope more people do the same :-)