Problems with Pad when constructing girder bridge deck

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
PeterSD

Problems with Pad when constructing girder bridge deck

Post by PeterSD »

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.24291 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-19
Hash: 7b5e18a0759de778b74d3a5c17eba9cb815035ac
Python version: 3.8.6+
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)

I am new to this.
I have constructed the base of the bridge as a Part.
I have then added the girders and padded them below the base without problem.
I have started the side walls and padded them to the to the top of the base again no problems.
I have added the top to the walls (3mm overhang both sided of the wall). This is where I have a problem with padding. I cannot find a way of attaching the start point of the pad to the top of the wall. It appears at the base, and when I increase the height, the overhangs rise until they obscure the walls above. Further increasing lifts the walls higher.
I have tried all types in the Pad drop down and failed.
Can anyone please help me?
Thank you
Kind regards
Peter
Girder Bridge Deck Construction.PNG
Girder Bridge Deck Construction.PNG (238.42 KiB) Viewed 6695 times
TheMarkster
Veteran

Re: Problems with Pad when constructing girder bridge deck

Post by TheMarkster »

You need to position the sketch you use to make the pad. There is an attachment offset property for this purpose, assuming it is attached to the xy plane. Now that your first post is approved you may attach your model for further investigation. Easiest way is to drag/drop onto the text field where you type in your post.
chrisb
Veteran

Post by chrisb »