[Downstream AUR issue] FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
ifohancroft
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

[Downstream AUR issue] FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by ifohancroft »

I am not sure if this is known as it has been happening for quite some time, but also this exact same fact made me realize that I should probably report it.

Here is what I mean by messed up:

Image

Here is FreeCAD's info:

OS: Manjaro Linux (MATE/mate)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.26698 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a178cc15f25da21edccd8e1165b12c33bcb25657
Python version: 3.9.9
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

I just built it from GitHub using the AUR freecad-git package, however, I reverted commit 7dad9a908feb182f2c678e4d37cab20c84257ce8 as after it, it fails during compilation.

I haven't opened a ticket about the issue as I don't know if it's known or if a ticket exists (I couldn't find one). Let me know if I should open an issue.

P.S.

Just in-case, here are the contents of PKGBUILD:

Code: Select all

# Maintainer: Grey Christoforo <first name at last name dot net>

pkgname=freecad-git
pkgver=0.20.0.r2430.gb23ae963d9
pkgrel=1
epoch=0
pkgdesc='A general purpose 3D CAD modeler - git checkout'
arch=('x86_64')
url='https://www.freecadweb.org/'
license=('LGPL')
depends=(
boost-libs
glew
jsoncpp
med
netcdf
opencascade
openmpi
pyside2-tools
python-yaml
python-matplotlib
python-pivy
python-ply
python-pyside2
qt5-svg
qt5-tools
qt5-webkit
qt5-x11extras
qt5-xmlpatterns
qt5-base
shared-mime-info
xerces-c
vtk
)
makedepends=(
boost
cmake
coin
eigen
gcc-fortran
gendesk
git
ninja
pyside2
python-shiboken2
shiboken2
swig
)
optdepends=(
'povray: ray tracing support'
'luxcorerender: ray tracing support'
'libspnav: 3d mouse support'
'openscad: OpenSCAD support'
)
provides=('freecad')
conflicts=('freecad' 'freecad-appimage' 'freecad-appimage-git')
source=("git+https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD.git")
md5sums=('SKIP')

pkgver() {
  cd FreeCAD
  read -d$'/n' -r major minor patch < <(grep -Po "set\(PACKAGE_VERSION_(MAJOR|MINOR|PATCH) \"\K[0-9]*" CMakeLists.txt) || true
  count=$(git rev-list --count $(git tag --sort=-creatordate|head -1)..HEAD)
  hash=$(git rev-parse --short HEAD)
  printf "%d.%d.%d.r%d.g%s" "$major" "$minor" "$patch" "$count" "$hash"
}

prepare() {
  cd FreeCAD

  #sed 's,from femexamples.boxanalysis_frequency import setup,return,' -i src/Mod/Fem/femtest/app/test_ccxtools.py
  #sed 's,from femexamples.thermomech_flow1d import setup,return,' -i src/Mod/Fem/femtest/app/test_ccxtools.py

  git revert --no-commit 7dad9a908feb182f2c678e4d37cab20c84257ce8
  #git checkout 927fdc9edc
}

_destdir="/usr"

build() {
  cd FreeCAD

  cmake -Wno-dev -G Ninja -B build_dir -S . \
    -D BUILD_ENABLE_CXX_STD=C++17 \
    -D BUILD_FEM=ON \
    -D BUILD_FEM_NETGEN=OFF \
    -D BUILD_MESH=ON \
    -D BUILD_FLAT_MESH=ON \
    -D BUILD_MESH_PART=ON \
    -D BUILD_SHIP=ON \
    -D BUILD_ASSEMBLY=OFF \
    -D BUILD_COMPLETE=ON \
    -D BUILD_JTREADER=ON \
    -D BUILD_PLOT=ON \
    -D CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=None \
    -D CMAKE_C_FLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fPIC -w" \
    -D CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS="${CXXFLAGS} -fPIC -w" \
    -D FREECAD_USE_EXTERNAL_PIVY=ON \
    -D FREECAD_USE_OCC_VARIANT="Official Version" \
    -D FREECAD_USE_QT_FILEDIALOG=ON \
    -D PYTHON_EXECUTABLE=/usr/bin/python \
    -D INSTALL_TO_SITEPACKAGES=ON \
    -D CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX="${_destdir}/lib/freecad" \
    -D CMAKE_INSTALL_BINDIR=bin \
    -D CMAKE_INSTALL_LIBDIR='../../lib' \
    -D CMAKE_INSTALL_DATADIR='../../share/freecad' \
    -D CMAKE_INSTALL_DATAROOTDIR='../../share' \
    -D CMAKE_INSTALL_DOCDIR='../../share/doc/freecad'

  cmake --build build_dir
}

check() {
  cd FreeCAD
  unset PATH_TO_FREECAD_LIBDIR
  cd build_dir
  LD_LIBRARY_PATH=lib bin/FreeCADCmd --console --run-test 0
}

package() {
  cd FreeCAD
  DESTDIR="${pkgdir}" cmake --install build_dir

  # get python site package folder in the right place
  cp -a "${pkgdir}${_destdir}"/lib/freecad/lib "${pkgdir}${_destdir}"
  rm -rf "${pkgdir}${_destdir}"/lib/freecad/lib

  # link all the .sos into python site package dir
  python_site_packages="$(python -c 'import sys; print(sys.path[-1])')"
  mkdir -p "${pkgdir}/${python_site_packages}"
  FILES="${pkgdir}${_destdir}"/lib/*.so
  for f in $FILES
  do
    ln -s ${_destdir}/lib/$(basename $f) "${pkgdir}/${python_site_packages}/$(basename $f)"
  done

  # links for bin
  mkdir -p "${pkgdir}${_destdir}"/bin
  FILES="${pkgdir}${_destdir}"/lib/freecad/bin/*
  for f in $FILES
  do
    ln -s '../lib/freecad/bin/'$(basename $f) "${pkgdir}${_destdir}"/bin/$(basename $f)
  done

  # env var for __init__.py
  mkdir -p "${pkgdir}"/etc/profile.d
  echo "export PATH_TO_FREECAD_LIBDIR=${_destdir}/lib" > "${pkgdir}"/etc/profile.d/freecad.sh

  install -Dt "${pkgdir}${_destdir}/share/licenses/${pkgname}" -m644 LICENSE
}
I like making, breaking and modding stuff, using a soldering iron, code or both. https://ifohancroft.com
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by Kunda1 »

I reported some downstream issues on the AUR freecad-git page.
Can you reproduce this on the AppImage or Snap freecad.ppd (edge) ?
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
ifohancroft
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by ifohancroft »

Kunda1 wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 9:39 pm I reported some downstream issues on the AUR freecad-git page.
Can you reproduce this on the AppImage or Snap freecad.ppd (edge) ?
Thanks! I'll checkout what you wrote there. I'll probably end up whipping my own PKGBUILD to compile FreeCAD from either the repo or the weekly builds as the weekly builds' AppImages always seem to work, so I am guessing it would be the same with the source there (I use them when I can't compile so I am never left without working FreeCAD).

With which AppImage you would like me to test? The latest from the weekly builds?
I like making, breaking and modding stuff, using a soldering iron, code or both. https://ifohancroft.com
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by Kunda1 »

ifohancroft wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 9:43 pm With which AppImage you would like me to test? The latest from the weekly builds?
Yea, weekly build. Maybe a new one was generated today (they are generated every sunday).

An aside, I'm hoping to convince loooo to start building the AppImage twice or thrice a week now that we have a lot of changes being introduced to FC.
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
ifohancroft
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by ifohancroft »

The latest weekly build .AppImage doesn't have this problem.

Also, yes, it appears it has been built today (well yesterday for me, but.. timezones, I guess)

OS: Manjaro Linux (MATE/mate)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.26683 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0388fbc)
Hash: 0388fbc98d49d874fb341b9037a743bc691d501f
Python version: 3.9.7
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

ugh, I forgot this info doesn't show the release date but according to the about screen, the release date is 2021/12/18 20:29:42
I like making, breaking and modding stuff, using a soldering iron, code or both. https://ifohancroft.com
User avatar
Kunda1
Veteran
Posts: 13434
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by Kunda1 »

Yea, so the OP is a downstream AUR issue. Thanks for checking!
Alone you go faster. Together we go farther
Please mark thread [Solved]
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
'good first issues' | Open TODOs and FIXMEs | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report Bugs
User avatar
ifohancroft
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by ifohancroft »

Most welcome!
I like making, breaking and modding stuff, using a soldering iron, code or both. https://ifohancroft.com
User avatar
ifohancroft
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: [Downstream AUR issue] FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by ifohancroft »

It looks like the UI is also messed up when compiling directly from the repo, following the compilation instructions in the wiki for out of source build.

OS: Manjaro Linux (MATE/mate)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.26700 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 6d4d433080f0e3d2d275f4c919809de7ad82a38f
Python version: 3.9.9
Qt version: 5.15.2
Coin version: 4.0.1
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

Has the build process changed?

I basically did this:

Code: Select all

git clone git@github.com:FreeCAD/FreeCAD.git
mkdir freecad-build
cd freecad-build
cmake ../FreeCAD
make -j$(nproc --ignore=2)
sudo make install
I like making, breaking and modding stuff, using a soldering iron, code or both. https://ifohancroft.com
User avatar
adrianinsaval
Veteran
Posts: 5541
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:15 pm

Re: [Downstream AUR issue] FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by adrianinsaval »

ifohancroft wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 2:09 am It looks like the UI is also messed up when compiling directly from the repo
AUR pulls the source directly from the repo so that's to be expected, there probably is some incompatibility with a dependency that was updated. Or something messed up in your system, how long ago are you seeing this? Do you have another arch system at hand to see if you can reproduce?
User avatar
ifohancroft
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 11:25 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: [Downstream AUR issue] FreeCAD UI Messed up

Post by ifohancroft »

adrianinsaval wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 2:19 pm
ifohancroft wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 2:09 am It looks like the UI is also messed up when compiling directly from the repo
AUR pulls the source directly from the repo so that's to be expected, there probably is some incompatibility with a dependency that was updated. Or something messed up in your system, how long ago are you seeing this? Do you have another arch system at hand to see if you can reproduce?

Well, it could always be that the compilation process in the AUR -git PKGBUILD messes something up, not the source being at fault.

This is from last night, but by how long ago am I seeing this I suppose you mean how many commits back I am still experience this problem?

Also, no. Unfortunately, I don't have another Arch system (or any other system in-fact) to test on.
I like making, breaking and modding stuff, using a soldering iron, code or both. https://ifohancroft.com
Post Reply