BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
lual
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 7:59 pm

BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by lual »

Hi, the new feature (Freecad 0.20) for threads in a hole has a small bug.

Description

"Part Design" >
"Hole" >
"Model Thread" >
"Thread Depth" >
"Dimension" >
pressing "OK" resets the given value to the value for the for hole-depth!

Please see the pictures...
freecad020_bug_20211220-103049_ksnip.png
freecad020_bug_20211220-103049_ksnip.png (352.81 KiB) Viewed 1146 times
freecad020_bug_20211220-104133_ksnip.png
freecad020_bug_20211220-104133_ksnip.png (374.26 KiB) Viewed 1146 times
I've reported this issue also at github here: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull ... -998214196

My FreeCAD version info

OS: Manjaro Linux (KDE/plasma)
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.26683 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0388fbc)
Hash: 0388fbc98d49d874fb341b9037a743bc691d501f
Python version: 3.9.7
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.5.3
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)

--

Kind Regards
lual
Attachments
bug_gewindebohrung.FCStd
(640.77 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 45578
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

I remember faintly that this has been discussed before, perhaps someone knows it? So I kindly ask you to respect our error reporting process, which starts with a discussion in the forum.

And please add your full FreeCAD infos, in a couple of weeks, nobody will know what exactly you meant by "0.20".
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
chrisb
Veteran
Posts: 45578
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by chrisb »

I can confirm the error. Can you please add a ticket to the bug tracker and link this discussion to it and vice versa?

As a workaround you can change the thred depth in the Data properties. However, this has to be redone every time you open and confirm the hole dialog.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
lual
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 7:59 pm

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by lual »

chrisb wrote: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:53 pm Can you please add a ticket to the bug tracker and link this discussion to it and vice versa?
... https://tracker.freecadweb.org/view.php?id=4808
thx
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4577
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by uwestoehr »

This PR fixes the issue your reported and also some other thread depth logic issues:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/5272
lual
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 7:59 pm

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by lual »

Wow - very quick fixed.
Thank you!
User avatar
uwestoehr
Veteran
Posts: 4577
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by uwestoehr »

lual wrote: Tue Dec 21, 2021 8:52 am Wow - very quick fixed.
Let's see. I merged the bugfix now.

Please test it out with the next build we provide every Sunday evening:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-Bund ... kly-builds
(The build number must be greater than 26725.)

Please report an further issues you see regarding threaded holes.
lual
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 7:59 pm

Re: BUG: "Part Design" > "Hole" > "Model Thread" > "Thread Depth" > "Dimension"

Post by lual »

uwestoehr wrote: Wed Dec 22, 2021 12:31 am Please test it out...
Tested with Rev 27008. Well done. Thanks
Post Reply