Errors In Scale

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Errors In Scale

Postby quick61 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:26 pm

I have this part, (attached), that shows no errors in it's geometry as is, but when any attempt is made to scale it, either with Mario's Macro or the simple one he helped me with, I get this failed result.
Scale_Error.png
Scale_Error.png (19.01 KiB) Viewed 2653 times
Using the Draft > Scale results in no visible object being produced.

Other parts scale just fine with the Draft Scale or either Macro. I'm not getting any errors out in Report view (redirects enabled in Preferences).

I am wondering, is this a problem with FreeCAD/Scale, (bug???), or is this a case where OCE is not performing - causing the error?

The attached .fcstd file has the original part with the 2 scaled by macro parts, (simple copy and clone), along the Draft > Scale clone.

Anyone working on the Draft > Clone tool, this seems to be a problem. Any hope for a fix? :)

Mark

OS: Ubuntu 13.10
Platform: 64-bit
Version: 0.14.3501 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: 7d427480823a2e56e900fd28564fb08e3d0f2a9f
Python version: 2.7.5+
Qt version: 4.8.4
Coin version: 4.0.0a
SoQt version: 1.5.0
OCC version: 6.7.0
Z_Coupler.fcstd
(177.84 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5715
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby bejant » Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:03 pm

No success at all with Draft WB Scale, varying results with Clone:
20140430a_3252.jpg
20140430a_3252.jpg (16.63 KiB) Viewed 2626 times
The cone on the left is recessed unlike the cone at the right..

OS: Windows XP
Platform: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3252
Python version: 2.6.2
Qt version: 4.5.2
Coin version: 3.1.0
SoQt version: 1.4.1
OCC version: 6.5.1

=====================
20140430b_3343.jpg
20140430b_3343.jpg (23.34 KiB) Viewed 2626 times
Just a shell with missing faces.

OS: Windows XP
Platform: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3343 (Git)
Branch: libpack
Hash: 8dcb8f68cf17ef152d34d226d7699c98c5bb59fb
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.5
Coin version: 3.1.3
SoQt version: 1.5.0
OCC version: 6.7.0

========================
20140430c_3390.jpg
20140430c_3390.jpg (19.95 KiB) Viewed 2626 times
This one seems OK.

OS: Windows XP
Platform: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3389
Python version: 2.6.2
Qt version: 4.5.2
Coin version: 3.1.0
SoQt version: 1.4.1
OCC version: 6.5.1
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby shoogen » Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:59 pm

http://tracker.dev.opencascade.org/view.php?id=24890
EDIT: But we should not use transformGeometry for uniform scaling and mirroring which could be better done using
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby quick61 » Thu May 01, 2014 12:09 am

shoogen wrote:"Upstream Problem"
Resolution: unfixable :cry: :cry: :cry:
http://tracker.dev.opencascade.org/view.php?id=24890
Then there is the good news that it has been reported. :) Thanks! For now, that seems to put this to the side. At least there is hope it will get fixed by the next release.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
mario52
Posts: 2610
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby mario52 » Thu May 01, 2014 8:39 am

hi
the error occurs early, in drilling on a curve

OS: Windows Vista
Platform: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3389
Python version: 2.6.2
Qt version: 4.5.2
Coin version: 3.1.0
SoQt version: 1.4.1
OCC version: 6.5.1
Error_Clone.png
Error_Clone.png (89.8 KiB) Viewed 2586 times
mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Dialog creation. My macros on Gist.github.
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby shoogen » Thu May 01, 2014 8:48 am

sometimes when i tried to find a simpler test case, it hit

Code: Select all

<type 'exceptions.Exception'>: Convert_SphereToBSplineSurface
Clone of difference: Convert_SphereToBSplineSurface
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby shoogen » Thu May 01, 2014 9:11 am

I'm sorry. I was wrong. Besides there is a Problem in OCCT with non-uniform scaling.
Most problems concerning uniform scaling can be circumvented by using transformShape instead of transfromGeometry.
EDIT:
in DRAWEXE this means using "pscale" instead of "deform"
jmaustpc
Posts: 9528
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby jmaustpc » Thu May 01, 2014 9:20 am

shoogen wrote:I'm sorry. I was wrong. Besides there is a Problem in OCCT with non-uniform scaling.
Most problems concerning uniform scaling can be circumvented by using transformShape instead of transfromGeometry.

Hi shoogen
in that case are the edges still converted to bsplines? if so, sketcher does not support bsplines so we would still have the limitation that sketches can not be mounted to the face of the scaled object. If just scaling the end result this is not necessarily a big problem of course.

Jim
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby shoogen » Thu May 01, 2014 10:14 am

jmaustpc wrote:in that case are the edges still converted to bsplines?
No, they are not converted.
http://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=1525
https://github.com/5263/FreeCAD/commit/ ... dd192777f8
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 14445
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Errors In Scale

Postby wmayer » Thu May 01, 2014 11:06 am

Merged.