using FCGear to cut a gear inside a gear

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
enmane

using FCGear to cut a gear inside a gear

Post by enmane »

Hi All,
I'm having a difficult time cutting a gear inside a gear. I'm still learning FreeCAD and congrats to the multiple people who have worked on this over the years - pretty amazing value in this program.
The part I'm trying to recreate is an external Gear 1 (FCGear does a great job in creating it) that has a cutout in it where another gear gets pressed into it as a shaft - Gear 2. So Gear1 has a pocket for Gear 2.
FCGear has enough adjustment that i can dial in the gears to be about right - it's not a simple involute so I can create a representative gear for Gear 1 and also for Gear 2 but I cannot seem to either
a) Use Part WB to subtract 1 from the other
2) Use Part Design to turn Gear 2 into a sketch and then pocket Gear 1
3) Use Draft to create a 2D representation of Gear 2 and then use Part Design to create a pocket in Gear 1

Any simple way to do this?
Thanks in advance
enmane
chrisb
Veteran

Re: using FCGear to cut a gear inside a gear

Post by chrisb »

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Your proposal a) should work. Upload your file for more help.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
enmane

Post by enmane »

I started with just simple spur gears and it seems to work fine by just creating both gears and then pocket the second within the first. As soon as I add details of the gears, it seems to break...

FreeCad 0.19 - latest download as of 1/10/2022

Gear 1 -
Teeth 27
Mod - 1.1
Beta = -25
clearance = 0.2

Gear 2
Teeth 6
Mod 1.5
Clearance = -.5
Tip 0.2

Also - add that Gear 2 should be scaled by 1.05% as well for clearance.