[SOLVED] Sheet Metal: Indexing objects from bend?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
kevinz

[SOLVED] Sheet Metal: Indexing objects from bend?

Post by kevinz »

Hello,

I'm very new to FreeCAD, and especially new to the Sheet Metal Workbench. I'm not even sure that what I want to do is good engineering practice. I'd like to bend a sheet metal object and measure and place objects on the bent flange in reference to the bent edge. Can this be done?

I've created a simple file to illustrate my issue. In this file, I:
  • Created a 10 x 10 object and padded it to 2mm.
  • Extruded and bent one of the edges to a 120 degree angle (so it's not in any of the default planes)
  • Created a local datum plane on the bent flange
  • Created a new sketch on this face and created a circle that I'd like to pocket for a screw hole
The new datum plane ended up with an axis down the middle, so I could index the center of the hole to that, but I'd like to set the height based off of the outer surface of the bend (Ideally, I'd like to base it off of the INNER surface of the material, but once I figure out the outer, I imagine the inner is similar). The datum also created a horizontal axis about three-quarter of the way down the face, seemingly at random, so I don't want to index off of there. The radio that I'm designing this bracket for has screw holes on the sides, that I can measure down from the top surface. It seems like this is the dimension I should sure to parametrically set their location.

Thanks for any suggestion or advice, both on the specific problem, and also on whether the way I'm going about it is a good idea or not.

-Kevin
Attachments
SMW_LocalDatum.FCStd
(16.78 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
Last edited by kevinz on Sun Jan 23, 2022 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kevinz