Seeking Intro Guide for Base Principles

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
ManOfScience

Seeking Intro Guide for Base Principles

Post by ManOfScience »

Does anyone know of a very, very, very concept-level beginners rudimentary overview of the *underlying principles* that FreeCAD models are built on so that I can *figure out* how to do X, rather than memorize steps by rote?

I've been working (on and off) at learning to use FreeCAD for a many years now. Since I retired 2 months ago, I've been working on it concertedly on a daily basis - mostly watching videos and trying to work my way through the documentation. I believe I understand the birds-eye view of how FreeCAD approaches CAD and how it differs from things like AutoCAD, Sketchup, or other Direct-modelling systems that most people are familiar with.

What I have not found is an introduction to or overview of the *very most* basic components of how I should understand and define FreeCAD *objects* like Points, Vertices, Lines, Edges, Faces, Planes, Surfaces, Etc.

For example -
For the last couple weeks, I have been working on drawing a basic 12 or 20-sided platonic solid. In my mind, I can think of them as being made of:
a cloud of points connected, edges with coincident ends, triangles with coincident vertices, triangles with coincident edges. If I really had to, I could imagine them as spheres or cubes (or literally any solid) with faces cut from the outside, but that seems absurd and to imply that FreeCAD would define the material on the inside of a solid on an atomic level rather than as bounded space.