[SOLVED] Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
prof_bloodstone
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:00 pm

[SOLVED] Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by prof_bloodstone »

Hey,

So I wanted to create a quite basic, duplicated holder. A single unit consists of one padded sketch to create the walls, and second padded sketch to create the bottom of the holder.
So the structure looks like:
Image

I then wanted to duplicate the holder using LinearPattern.
Unfortunately it looks like only the part of the body that was created in the second pad was duplicated, despite the fact that selecting the second pad, whole body got highlighted.

This results in:
Image

I'm kinda lost as to why it could be. Does the pattern ignore the `Base` property of the pad? Was it created incorrectly?

I'm attaching the project so far, would appreciate any hints to what could be wrong so that I can read up on it :)

Thanks!
Attachments
IKEAZipLockHolder.FCStd
(65.74 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Last edited by prof_bloodstone on Mon Jan 24, 2022 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
GeneFC
Veteran
Posts: 5373
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by GeneFC »

The images need to be "attached" to the message. Use the Attachments tab below the edit window.

(And always Preview your message before sending.)

Gene
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 9475
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by Shalmeneser »

You need to select all the functions -in the right order- which need to be Patterned.

Code: Select all

 └ Body (Body)
    ├ Pad (Pad)
    │  └ Sketch (Sketch)
    ├ Pad001 (Pad)
    │  └ Sketch001 (Sketch)
    └ LinearPattern (LinearPattern) <- Pad, Pad001
TheMarkster
Veteran
Posts: 5505
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by TheMarkster »

Use MultiTransform instead, then add the other feature to the top panel and add a linear transform via the context menu to the bottom panel.

Edit: Or you can just edit the Originals property of the Linear feature to also include the other feature.
User avatar
Shalmeneser
Veteran
Posts: 9475
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2020 12:04 am
Location: Fr

Re: Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by Shalmeneser »

Use symmetry in your 1st sketch !
Attachments
Capture du 2022-01-23 23-52-04.png
Capture du 2022-01-23 23-52-04.png (24.06 KiB) Viewed 626 times
IKEAZipLockHolder_SHALM.FCStd
(35.37 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
prof_bloodstone
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:00 pm

Re: Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by prof_bloodstone »

Thanks everyone!
GeneFC wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:32 pm The images need to be "attached" to the message. Use the Attachments tab below the edit window.

(And always Preview your message before sending.)

Gene
I followed the img BBCode (been a while) and thought it was just preview weirdness that they didn't show up. My bad.
Shalmeneser wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:35 pm You need to select all the functions -in the right order- which need to be Patterned.

Code: Select all

 └ Body (Body)
    ├ Pad (Pad)
    │  └ Sketch (Sketch)
    ├ Pad001 (Pad)
    │  └ Sketch001 (Sketch)
    └ LinearPattern (LinearPattern) <- Pad, Pad001
I tried to add the `Pad` to the feature, but it wouldn't let me. But somehow selecting them both first and then creating the pattern worked. I hoped it'd follow the Base properties, but oh well. Thanks!
Shalmeneser wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:52 pm Use symmetry in your 1st sketch !
I did, though I didn't do it for the copies. I'll check out your project - thanks!
user1234
Veteran
Posts: 3339
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Pattern only copying part of the body/feature

Post by user1234 »

prof_bloodstone wrote: Mon Jan 24, 2022 3:19 am I tried to add the `Pad` to the feature, but it wouldn't let me.
There was a selecting order issue in older versions, which is fixed in the master branch (0.20master). So i think you use a older FreeCAD version (0.19.x).

Greetings
user1234
Post Reply