Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
trayus
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:11 am

Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Postby trayus » Fri May 30, 2014 12:44 am

Hi,

I'm looking to move a bunch of text and lines in one move using the draft workbench.

I click the move icon on draft workbench
Press shift+b on keyboard to box select.

But only the lines turn green indicating selection. Why wont the text be selected in the box selection:?:

Kind Regards.

OS: Windows 7
Platform: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3389
Python version: 2.6.2
Qt version: 4.5.2
Coin version: 3.1.0
SoQt version: 1.4.1
OCC version: 6.5.1
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5705
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Postby bejant » Fri May 30, 2014 1:10 am

Greetings,
I'm no expert on the Draft WB, but I seem to have the best results selecting items from the Tree View; press Ctrl to select multiple items...

And, maybe the syntax is to select the items first, then click the tool button?
trayus
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:11 am

Re: Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Postby trayus » Fri May 30, 2014 1:26 am

Hi,

Yes, I was wondering if it was my workflow also.

I have just tried to create a group and add the lines and text to the group. Then select the group and child object by Right Click, Select Group. This selects all objects as required. :)

But when the group is copied, the group is not copied. Instead the objects are created as individual objects on the project tree.

But (again)

If I go to the edit menu, Duplicate selection. Then the group is duplicated as a group in the project tree. :D Duplicated items (Group) have same location as the original items (group). :(



There is no python console action during this duplication. Would be sweet if this duplication could be scripted ;)

Cheers.
trayus
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:11 am

Re: Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Postby trayus » Fri May 30, 2014 2:05 am

Hi,

Perhaps a suggestion might be to add an option to copy the current selection and all other group elements and the group parent.
Please see attached for dialog box. Sorry not familiar with code to add to the program.

Kind Regards,
Attachments
freecad_copy_suggestion.jpg
freecad_copy_suggestion.jpg (26.66 KiB) Viewed 2065 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11367
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Postby yorik » Sat May 31, 2014 6:26 pm

I would actually prefer to do that another way: 1) You select an object, 2) you select all objects in the same group, 3) you move them. With a keyboard shortcut to do step 2, it can be quite efficient.

A new command is needed to do step 2, but it's a good idea, I can do it. issue #1568
trayus
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:11 am

Re: Draft Workbench, Object Duplication and Move

Postby trayus » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:14 am

Hi,

Yes, I agree. Developing a keyboard shortcut to select all objects in same group would / may be a better approach.
I look forward to the implementation.