FreeCad Flower Mess

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
RussG

FreeCad Flower Mess

Post by RussG »

So...I'm new at FreeCAD (and CAD as well). I've been working on making a replacement flower for my hummingbird feeder. You can buy them online, but where’s the fun in that?

I’m using FreeCAD .19 on my MacBook Pro, macOS 11.5.2, Big Sur.

I made a model in FreeCAD that I think may work. I probably did it the hard way, and wrong as well, but I did it. That said there may be problems. You can see what I made in the first two screenshots. They show a couple views of the flower model. It’s made from two parts: 1. Body_Petals (the Model Tree is visible in the third screenshot), makes the petals and 2. Compound, makes the stem. (The stem by the way will fit into the surface of the feeder, passing through the surface. The bulbous part of the stem will compress in order to reduce its diameter while being inserted through the mounting hole in the feeder surface and expand once it’s been inserted in order to hold it in place. That’s why the stem is slotted—to allow for that compression.

When making this flower I wound up doing some copying and pasting and making the Compound (flower stem) which if I recall was to enable me to be able to reposition it in relationship to Body_Petals using Transform. Don’t ask me why—I’m like a fish flopping around out of water here, learning new software with a pretty steep learning curve. My girlfriend who is not too tech savvy usually just keeps clicking on things until she gets what she wants and I’ve sort of been doing that :)