failed somehow sketching rotating mast

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jadory

failed somehow sketching rotating mast

Post by jadory »

I'm a newb trying to figure out Freecad and used an image to create a sketch of the mast section of my sailboat roughly (doesn't have to be perfect) using a combination of b-splines, arcs, and straight lines. The section has varying thicknesses and some flat (straight line) sections as well as the curves. The computer I'm using is a desktop but rather old (Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690 CPU @ 3.50GHz) with 16 Gb ram.

This drawing about locks up my computer. When I load it, it takes about a minute before it loads the sketch. So I've probably made several mistakes. I was working on constraining it and used the Constrain Block for the b-splines. Then several other various methods on the other pieces. Obvious I don't know what I'm doing. It is difficult to work back on the sketch as each action takes forever. I actually created it using the latest version .19, but acts similarly in .20.

I'm curious if it also loads slowly on a modern computer, and I'm curious what mistakes I've made - perhaps how I could have handled it in a better manner. Thanks for looking!

Code: Select all

Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.29177 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.20)
Hash: 68e337670e227889217652ddac593c93b5e8dc94
Python 3.9.13, Qt 5.12.9, Coin 4.0.0, Vtk 9.1.0, OCC 7.5.3
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Attachments
Mast-section6-15-22.FCStd
(97.2 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
adrianinsaval
Veteran

Re: failed somehow sketching rotating mast

Post by adrianinsaval »