Trigonometry

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
BruceArnold

Trigonometry

Post by BruceArnold »

First of all, I am so grateful to all of the people whose efforts have made FreeCAD a reality. I use the software to create woodworking plans, and since I'm a lousy woodworker, I basically only deal with straight lines. Which makes it pretty easy for me to get by with very rudimentary FreeCAD skills.

I do all of my modelling using scripts, so that I can put in exact dimensions and placements, and keep trying until I get it right. Scripting also lets me use trigonometry when locating the occasional component that is not aligned on all three axes. Herein lies the challenge.

My part is at a 30° angle, but because of where my reference point is located, I'm setting the yaw to 210°, not 30°. Trig tells me that if I want the left vertex to be located at (0,0,0), I should locate the anchor point at (cos30°× partwidth, sin30°× partwidth, 0). When I do that, though, the left vertex is NOT (0,0,0), but a smidge off — more than could be accounted for by rounding (and since I use a script, my placement parameters are many decimal places long).

The plans still come out much better than my workproduct, but I'm wondering if anyone else has come across a situation where math and a FreeCAD vertex don't seem to jibe. If anyone is tempted to reply, let me thank you in advance. Thanks.

Bruce Arnold
Mt Wilson, New South Wales AUSTRALIA

I'm a newbie here, so please be gentle if I'm not au fait with all of the protocols. But ...

.png and . FCStd files attached
Beam.png
Beam.png (17.03 KiB) Viewed 561 times
Beam.FCStd
(10.94 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

Code: Select all

Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.20.1.29410 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-20