Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby NormandC » Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:40 pm

OK, just thought of trying this: if I change the language to English, edge selection works. If language is set to French, it doesn't!

I tried a few others, here's the complete list:

English: works
German: works
Spanish: no edge selection
Italian: no edge selection
Portugese: no edge selection
Russian: no edge selection
Norwegian: no edge selection

Can anyone check if they have the same problem?
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15756
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby wmayer » Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:41 pm

What colors do you have defined? Could this be the problem?
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby NormandC » Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:48 pm

I deleted the .FreeCAD preferences folder. I've been running with default settings.

BTW, my method to check:

1. change language in Edit > preferences
2. close FreeCAD, reopen
3. create box
4. start fillet command from Part toolbench
5. select edges in the 3D model window

I've gotta leave, I'll be back in 7-8 hours.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15756
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby wmayer » Sun Feb 20, 2011 4:49 pm

Can anyone check if they have the same problem?
On my Ubuntu box I can confirm this behaviour. The important point is to restart the application after changing the language because of your language is English or German and you move to another language it always work for this. I'll check if it happens on Windows, too...
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby NormandC » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:35 am

Thanks Werner. At least now I know I was not going crazy! :)
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15756
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby wmayer » Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:21 am

BTW, this seems to be a Linux-only problem. On Windows I do not have this behaviour.
User avatar
jriegel
Site Admin
Posts: 3369
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: Ulm, Germany
Contact:

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby jriegel » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Mhh,
I get more and more a strange fealing about the highlighting. There are some really strange bugs
around that thing.

I think I will put the rewrite of the selection on top of my todo list for the 0.12.
To put that early into the 0.12 gives us also time to master all the subsequent problems
that rewrite will yield....
Stop whining - start coding!
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15756
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby wmayer » Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:50 pm

To make it even more weird I have this problem seen only on Ubuntu Lucid 32-bit but my Lucid 64-bit in a Virtual Box doesn't have this problem.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11864
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby yorik » Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:12 pm

I don't have that problem either (debian 64bit)... I can change languages and highligh works fine...
User avatar
jriegel
Site Admin
Posts: 3369
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: Ulm, Germany
Contact:

Re: Edge selection in Gui model window doesn't work anymore

Postby jriegel » Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:04 pm

I think it depends on the OpenGL implementation (again :roll: ).
Stop whining - start coding!