Creating a sketch on a spherical face

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
imtrying123

Creating a sketch on a spherical face

Post by imtrying123 »

Hi, I'm new to FreeCAD and CAD software in general. I'm trying to make a ball marker, a half sphere that goes around a golf ball with a stencil so one can use a sharpie to draw in a design. I've created the half sphere, but what is the best way to create the stencil part? I assume creating a sketch and then subtracting an extrusion of the sketch would work best, but the "create a sketch" function in the part design only likes planes :p
Thanks!
Also, just because of the sticky :)
Word size: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3700 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-14
Hash: 32f5aae0a64333ec8d5d160dbc46e690510c8fe1
Python version: 2.6.2
Qt version: 4.5.2
Coin version: 3.1.0
SoQt version: 1.4.1
OCC version: 6.5.1
bejant
Veteran

Re: Creating a sketch on a spherical face

Post by bejant »

Greetings imtrying123, welcome to FreeCAD and to the forum.
imtrying123 wrote:what is the best way to create the stencil part? I assume creating a sketch and then subtracting an extrusion of the sketch would work best, but the "create a sketch" function in the part design only likes planes
Even though Sketcher requires a planar surface in order to create a Pad, you can still make a Pad that extends through the surface of the cover, switch to the Part WB, and Boolean difference it from the hemisphere to create your stencil void using the Part Boolean menu tool:
or by selecting the cover first, then click the Pad stencil, and clicking the Boolean Subtraction tool:
Image.

If what you have now is a solid half of a sphere with the stencil void removed, you can select the Part WB > Thickness Tool:
to hollow the solid hemisphere.