Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby r-frank » Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:39 pm

Hello.

I just found out something which is not OK (at least not for me ...) ;)
Using 0.15.4527 on WIndows 7 - 64 bit.

If you draw one closed shape with sketcher and use Revolve in Part Workbench with "create solid" ticked,
you get a solid.
If you draw more than one closed shapes, use revolve with "create solid" ticked, you won't get solids.
You will get shell objects.

Part Design would refuse Revolution with more than one closed shape.
Part should show the same behaviour or should show a warning and disable the "create solid" command
> whatever you think is more appropriate or easier to implement

Look here for proof:
Revolve_Part_Workbench-Bug.jpg
Revolve_Part_Workbench-Bug.jpg (352.91 KiB) Viewed 1452 times
Thanks for your time.

Roland
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
jmaustpc
Posts: 9558
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby jmaustpc » Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:42 pm

could you please post an example file?
ulrich1a
Posts: 1872
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby ulrich1a » Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:54 pm

I can confirm the behavior of making shells with Part revolve.

Ulrich

OS: Debian GNU/Linux 8.0 (jessie)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4570 (Git)
Branch: remotes/origin/master
Hash: d89d1808b71a6a1eea2e4ef50516b2feedef7135
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17-dev
Attachments
Part_revolve_shell.fcstd
(5.14 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
ulrich1a
Posts: 1872
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby ulrich1a » Sat Feb 14, 2015 2:00 pm

I would think, Part-Design-revolve fails because of the Part-revolution-error.

Ulrich
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby r-frank » Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:43 pm

jmaustpc wrote:could you please post an example file?
Sure ... see attachment.

Using such a sketch (or even the same) with Revolution in Part Design will result in an invalid shape.
[As said above ... used 0.15.4527 on Windows 7 - 64bit]
Error Message:
Part-Design-Error.jpg
Part-Design-Error.jpg (20.46 KiB) Viewed 1412 times

Roland
Attachments
Part-Revolve-Shell.FCStd
(6.91 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby r-frank » Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:53 pm

Reported on Mantis as Issue #1969.
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3793
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby quick61 » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:17 pm

What you are trying to do here is create 2 separate parts with one action. The tool should not allow one to create 2 separate solids. If it did, it would need to create a Compound, like Array. Sense Part Workbench works with shells, as opposed to Part Design which only deals with solids, Part > Revolve will allow shells, as they could be part of a more complex solid being created in further operations. IMO this is not a bug, but working just as it should. Maybe a feature request to allow Part > Revolve to 'Make Compound Solid' from such Sketches / Draft objects might be more appropriate than calling it a bug.

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
r-frank
Posts: 2181
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 6:26 pm
Location: Möckmühl, Germany
Contact:

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby r-frank » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:34 pm

Well Mark, you've got a point ...
I was also thinking quite some time if it is more a bug or a feature request ...

At least we agree on that: Either the tool should refuse the action or revert
to make a shell WITH WARNING MESSAGE or similar ... :D

Roland
Deutsche FreeCAD Tutorials auf Youtube
My GrabCAD FreeCAD-Projects
FreeCAD lessons for beginners in english

Native german speaker - so apologies for my english, no offense intended :)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 1:43 am

@shoogen writes in http://freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=1969#c5801
shoogen wrote:we could add a check if that every shell, face, edge or vertex must be references from solids. If that would not be the case we could raise an exception. But we should not change the behavior, if the solid flag is set to false.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Willem
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:27 pm
Location: Lisse, The Netherlands

Re: Bug Report - Part Workbench - Revolve

Postby Willem » Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:55 am

In my opinion the revolve function needs to be modified. I have an example from this forum https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=19936. It is a design for a fan. A patharray is made from a circle, the array with 25 circles is revolved, the revolve succeeds but the created toruses are not solid and this is a situation for a normal design where you may expect that these toruses can be solid
Fan-1.png
Fan-1.png (141.3 KiB) Viewed 921 times
Freecad files are available in the topic