FreeCAD document icon

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16841
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby wmayer » Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:15 pm

The FCStd1,2,... are backup files just in case if re-saving a project fails and damages the zip. Then you can delete the broken FCStd and rename FCStd1 to FCStd to at least have the last version of it. If don't want it you can switch this off in the preferences in the Document tab.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby NormandC » Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:53 pm

wmayer wrote:I don't know if this is still true for Gnome3 but in Gnome2 you have the directory $HOME/.thumbnails with two sub-directories. inside there you have PNG files with a GUID as file name. I think when deleting all the files there you should see the correct thumbnail for exiting fcstd files.
Hey thanks, I just tried this and it solved my problem. :)

There are actually 3 folders: fail, large and normal. In fail, there was a folder named gnome-thumbnail-factory whith a few hundreds bad PNGs. I deleted them, went back to my folder containing FreeCAD files, and the thumbnails show up again. It seems this folder says to Nautilus not to attempt to rebuild thumbnails for files it failed before.

It looks like this is an old GNOME bug. https://bugs.launchpad.net/nautilus/+bug/305850

Next I'll have to delete the .thumbnailer files I created, to check if they actually are useful.
pperisin
Posts: 695
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 12:29 pm

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby pperisin » Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:08 pm

Normand, can you post screenshot how do your documents look in Ubuntu?

Regards
Petar
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby triplus » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:18 pm

Hi.

OS: Ubuntu 11.10 and PPA.

Few days back i read the content of this topic and based on instructions (by normandc) in this topic i was able to make "thumbnail icons" working. There is one problem and i i thought i will ask the question in this topic!

I tried this on different PC's with different (graphic) hardware (Nvidia binary, Nouveau, Intel driver...) and i noticed only with Nvidia binary driver the thumbnail inside the file (fcstd / zip) gets created. Is this connected with OpenGL version or lack of some functionalities in open source drivers? Thanks!
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16841
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby wmayer » Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:38 pm

I tried this on different PC's with different (graphic) hardware (Nvidia binary, Nouveau, Intel driver...) and i noticed only with Nvidia binary driver the thumbnail inside the file (fcstd / zip) gets created. Is this connected with OpenGL version or lack of some functionalities in open source drivers? Thanks!
To create a thumbnail we use the off-screen rendering provided by the Coin3D API. There were several complaints that it fails on many systems but this is really due to lack of functionality of the driver. You'll find more information on the Coin3D ML.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby NormandC » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:07 am

pperisin wrote:Normand, can you post screenshot how do your documents look in Ubuntu?

Regards
Petar
Hi Petar,

I'm really sorry I completely forgot to answer you. :oops:

Here's a screenshot showing some of my FreeCAD files in my Drawings folder. Some show a thumbnail, and some show the FreeCAD document icon because the thumbnail option was not ticked in the FreeCAD Preferences.

Image

Oh yeah, there's Jim's rat home at the top.

P.S. I just noticed that the image hosting service I use has annoying ads. :roll: Since I usually use AdBlock+ I never see ads.
jmaustpc
Posts: 10514
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby jmaustpc » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:37 am

normandc wrote:P.S. I just noticed that the image hosting service I use has annoying ads. :roll: Since I usually use AdBlock+ I never see ads.


they also have a link to change the language to English, that doesn't work. I had been thinking of using them. :(

Jim
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby NormandC » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:42 am

I used ImageShack for years (still have an account), but abandoned them 2 years ago because their reliability took a hit. Maybe you could try them to see if they've solved their bandwidth problems. But there are so many, do a search for "free image hosting" and you'll find lots of links.
triplus
Posts: 9475
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby triplus » Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:40 pm

To create a thumbnail we use the off-screen rendering provided by the Coin3D API. There were several complaints that it fails on many systems but this is really due to lack of functionality of the driver. You'll find more information on the Coin3D ML.
Yes this is it! Based on your information it was easy to find this:

http://mailman.coin3d.org/pipermail/coi ... 18219.html

Pbuffers support probably will not be implemented in drivers and Coin3D if i understand correctly will use different method in the future! This helped and now thumbnail gets created!
Try setting the following environment variables to 1 before running your
program.
COIN_GLXGLUE_NO_PBUFFERS
COIN_GLXGLUE_NO_GLX13_PBUFFERS
Thanks!
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16841
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: FreeCAD document icon

Postby wmayer » Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:05 pm

Good point! Maybe we should write this information to the console if the off-screen rendering failed.