Intermediate Online FreeCAD course?

Post here if you have a FreeCAD-related job to offer to the FreeCAD community. This can include programming or modeling.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Linear3000

Intermediate Online FreeCAD course?

Post by Linear3000 »

Hi There,

I've been using FreeCAD for a couple months and I've gotten most of the basics of sweeping, lofting, boolean operations between basic shapes, creating constrained sketches, etc. BUT now I want to accelerate my abilities to become more productive in mechanical design...i.e. streamline my workflow so that I can make fairly complicated geometries without spending hours trying to figure out how to do things, endlessly reading forum posts and videos for only small advances in technique. The forum is nice but it would be nicer to be able to discuss this stuff out loud on a video call, and fill in a lot of gaps in knowledge.

Perhaps we could get together maybe 5 or so interested learners who are at a level similar to mine, and 1 fairly advanced expert (who has a verifiable online presence/reputation on the forums and/or has made videos ie some evidence that they are an expert, and that they have a breadth of knowledge and ability to communicate effectively, or have taught a freecad course before etc. )

-We should limit the number of people on the call to 6, so that we can keep a good connection latency and give everyone a chance to participate in a group discussion.
-We could use teamviewer, skype, or google hangouts to do verbal/video chat and do screenshares during the session
-We could have 1 "tryout" no-commitment, no payment session from the expert where we all just see if we can show up at the same place and time (and on time) that would last about 10 minutes and where we can evaluate whether we think it's going to work out, and the expert give a short demo