Complete Workbench :(

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD

Moderator: agryson

wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15126
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby wmayer » Wed May 31, 2017 10:29 am

If it would be used for developers to add quality standalone commands to it the name makes sense. As this is in line with what Complete workbench was used for in the past.
This was true for previous versions but doesn't make sense any more for 0.17 or later because there we have some automatisms implemented (PDN, FEM, ...) to switch to the right workbench when e.g. double-clicking an object for editing.
I don't quite understand what it is good for having a Complete workbench with no relevant function inside. Then we can also remove it straight away.
triplus
Posts: 8868
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby triplus » Wed May 31, 2017 6:02 pm

When i said a placeholder for standalone commands:

Code: Select all

Complete_CommandName.py
Contributions like that is what i was referring to.

As for users using Complete workbench for customization purposes (FreeCAD 0.17). It's true there is some automatisms implemented for some commands ATM. And currently it isn't optional and likely won't be in FreeCAD 0.17. But on the long run i do imagine it could happen. As for the rest. I don't have more answers therefore the only way is to make the test and listen to the feedback and see how things will progress further. Removing it completely can still happen in the future.
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 3343
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby wandererfan » Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:38 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat May 27, 2017 9:33 pm
The purpose you propose would be useful, but then the "Complete" name would make even less sense than it does now. Why not rename it while you're at it?
Seems to be 2 reasonable uses for catch-all WBs:

"myWorkbench" - a place for users to collect their favourite/most used tools. Alternate name "Favourites".
"Tools" - a place for developers to put contributions that don't apply to just 1 workbench. Alternate name "Utility".

"Complete" should disappear, it makes no sense.
triplus
Posts: 8868
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby triplus » Fri Jun 02, 2017 8:42 pm

And are we able to agree on things like workbench names and are prepared to introduce 2 empty workbenches by default in FreeCAD 0.17? And know with some level of certainty it does make sense?

If yes i don't have problems adapting the pull request to such outcome. If no keeping it simple with one already available but empty workbench in FreeCAD 0.17 (and after listening to the feedback as discussed) should i guess do.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15126
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby wmayer » Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:35 am

Merged.
rapatan
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby rapatan » Mon May 07, 2018 9:20 pm

hi
this use to be a great way to see everything automatically/easily to design a part ...
Can it have the main workbenchs to design a part , make an assembly, render and make a tech drawing in it as standard.
All basic ones ( i guess excluding Draft Arch FEM ship .. etc)

If you hate this idea could you allow user to select which workbenchs should be included in complete, ( as far as I can see currently you have to add every command manually)
kind regards
Tansen
triplus
Posts: 8868
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Complete Workbench :(

Postby triplus » Tue May 08, 2018 7:09 am

Hi @rapatan.

In FreeCAD 0.17 things changed a bit. For example PartDesign workbench automatic switching was introduced. Therefore for now it isn't possible to for example add PartDesign commands to Complete workbench. And when using them not to change the workbench to PartDesign. Maybe support for something like that will be reintroduced in the future. To support such use case.