Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

A forum for research and development of the user interface of FreeCAD

Moderator: agryson

User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5576
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Alternative GUI for FreeCAD: Overlayed Layout (Devs needed)

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:39 pm

Just a heads up to anyone out there that is industrious and interested...
Here is an interface that @ickby created in 2014/5 that uses Qt5 actually used qt4 and was based on qml.
phpBB [video]

The sources are on a branch in his github repo. Will post as a follow up.

Edit:
source (recently updated 6/22/17): https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/comp ... kby:layout
https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_sf_master/tree/layout
Last edited by Kunda1 on Sat Jun 24, 2017 1:29 am, edited 2 times in total.
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
ickby
Posts: 2918
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby ickby » Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:47 pm

It actually used qt4 and was based on qml. I stopped working on this as qt5 was needed to do real interfaces in qml, and that was not available back than in FreeCAD.

But the code is horrible, I suck at JavaScript :)
User avatar
kkremitzki
Posts: 1713
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:52 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby kkremitzki » Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:53 pm

ickby wrote:
Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:47 pm
But the code is horrible, I suck at JavaScript :)
It's for the best, as they say "Be careful what you get good at doin' 'cause you'll be doin' it for the rest of your life."
Like my FreeCAD work? I'd appreciate any level of support via Patreon, Liberapay, or PayPal! Read more about what I do at my blog.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5576
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:58 pm

ickby wrote:
Wed Jun 21, 2017 7:47 pm
It actually used qt4 and was based on qml. I stopped working on this as qt5 was needed to do real interfaces in qml, and that was not available back than in FreeCAD.

But the code is horrible, I suck at JavaScript :)
Either way it's a great proof of concept!
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1121
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby Chris_G » Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:37 pm

I looked at this video many times, and I'd love to see this revived, now that Qt5 is almost there ...
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5576
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:18 am

Is it worth rebasing the branch so if someone out there wants to take a stab at implementing this overlay approach?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
ickby
Posts: 2918
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby ickby » Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:39 am

I have quite some doubts that this will work after all that time... but out of curiosity I may try that this evening :)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5576
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 12:51 pm

ickby wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:39 am
I have quite some doubts that this will work after all that time... but out of curiosity I may try that this evening :)
Fun! Fantastic!
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
ickby
Posts: 2918
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby ickby » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:26 am

hah I actually made it work again :) Needed some hours as the QT5 changes have been significant in FreeCAD master, and most likely I messed quite some things up for qt5, but here we go (qt4 only):
overlay.png
overlay.png (176.3 KiB) Viewed 3437 times

So if someone wants to go on with this the proof of concept is there, and I happily guide you through. But be aware, there is a LOT of work to be done :)
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5576
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Alternative GUI for FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:13 am

ickby wrote:
Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:26 am
hah I actually made it work again :) Needed some hours as the QT5 changes have been significant in FreeCAD master, and most likely I messed quite some things up for qt5...

So if someone wants to go on with this the proof of concept is there, and I happily guide you through. But be aware, there is a LOT of work to be done :)
@ickby that is Awesome news!
Could you push the rebase to your github repo?
Also would you consider bullet pointing what would need to be done to get it working on Qt5?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features